1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Stuck on ClockworkMod Recovery Screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmet, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. jmet

    jmet Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Hi all....I successfully rooted yesterday. Installed wireless tether and was going to uninstall some bloatware. When I get to the ClockworkMod Recovery screen, it won't select anything. I can move up and down but when I select it with the power button, it just goes to a blank screen....like your locking the screen. When you hit the power button again, the menu comes back.

    Any idea whats wrong and what I need to do to correct the issue?
     

    Advertisement

  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    Hitting the power button isn't the way to do it. That just sleeps the screen or moves back a menu.

    Push the joyball/trackstick thingy button :)
     
  3. CarlGustav

    CarlGustav Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    21
    5
    16
    You have to click the trackball for selection in clockwork.
     
  4. jmet

    jmet Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

  5. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    What are you trying to specifically do?
     
  6. jmet

    jmet Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Getting rid of CityID and other crapware the put on there...I would also like to find like a msconfig so I can stop all the dang apps from starting up everytime I reboot the phone

    Edit: Trying to create that "mkdir /system/app.disabled" folder to put the apps I don't want in there.
     
  7. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    There are root apps that can control your startup on the market.

    That said, you should be in adb shell, in clockwork. You must also use the paritions menu to moun the system partition.

    At the prompt, you would type mkdir /system/app/disabledapps.

    That should do it.

    Personally, I nuke the stuff and CityID goes deeper than just the apk. Its also in the framework.
     
  8. jmet

    jmet Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    How do I just nuke it? I thought after I had rooted, I would just be able to just uninstall the apps normally like other apps
     
  9. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213

Share This Page

Loading...