1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Stuck on CWM 3.0.0.5

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BigPapaCherry, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. BigPapaCherry

    BigPapaCherry Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I'm running CWM 3.0.0.5, and it will not install Incredible Revolution on my Virtuous 3.2 install because of the Edify script change. I have been reading about the issues caused by 3.0.0.5, and know that I need to flash an earlier version, something 2.*. In Rom Manager, the earliest version of CWM available is 3.0.0.5, so I need a way to manually flash an earlier version. I've not seen a file in any of the other threads I've checked out. Can anyone link me to a file to flash CWM 2.*? Would this just be flashed via HBOOT or some other way?

    Also, I was having major issues restoring from Nandroid backups yesterday. I was attempting to restore Virtuous 3.2 backups after trying CM6, but it would bootloop after successfully restoring. It would reach the lock screen, but then Sense would force close and then begin bootlooping. Could this be related to CWM 3.0.0.5? I know 3.0.0.5 has issues loading Sense roms, but it was able to install a fresh copy of Virtuous no problem.



    TL;DR: I'm stuck on CWM 3.0.0.5 and cannot downgrade in Rom Manager. Help requested.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. jamor

    jamor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,688
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    3,688
    761
    213
    Planet Earth
    Upgrade to 3.0.0.8
     
  3. BigPapaCherry

    BigPapaCherry Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    3.0.0.8 doesn't fix the issue. The Incredible Revolution theme is still an amend script, which CWM 3.* doesn't support. I tried running it through Rom Manager and manually in CWM 3.0.0.8 and it aborted.
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    adrynalyne.us and dougpiston.com have the older clockwork for download on their sites.
     
    BigPapaCherry likes this.
  5. BigPapaCherry

    BigPapaCherry Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Thanks, I now have a file for CWM 2.5.1.2. How do I install it from here? Can I use CWM to install a different version of CWM? Or do I have to rename it update.zip (or something else) to get it to install via HBOOT?

    Just trying to not break my recovery, not sure what kind of risk there is of bricking the phone if I try the wrong thing.
     
  6. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Your sd card has to be formatted to fat32, and the file has to be named PB31IMG.zip exactly and it is installed from hboot. The file will be placed on the root of the sd card and when you boot into hboot, it will automatically be detected and ask you if you want to install it.
     
    BigPapaCherry likes this.
  7. JLyndon

    JLyndon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I had the same issue, and I have most of it fixed I think. The newest clockwork mod listed as a ""previous version" in ROM Manager is 3.0.0.5. I have reverted back to CWM 2.5.1.2 via HBOOT, and ROM Manager 2.5.0.4 (then it made me update to RM 3.0.1.2) ... ROM Manager still says my current recovery is 3.0.0.5. I've uninstalled/reinstalled, wiped cache/user data/battery data/davlik and still no change. Is there a way to force ROM Manager to see the correct CWM? Maybe I did something in the wrong order. Thanks!
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    you can also simply flash RA_GNM and use that to install your rom. if it fails the signiture verification,simply toggle it off,at your own risk of course. :)
     
  9. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    one thing i learned is that once you flash clockwork 2.5.x.x via hboot, ignore what rom manager lists as your current recovery ;) when i did it, rom manager still listed RA_GNM as mine :eek: no biggie,when you boot to recovery from rom manager,or from hboot,you will still have 2.5.x.x

    my advice would be to install your clockwork 2.5.1.2 via hboot again,and then forget about it. dont let rom manager upgrade you unless 2.5.x.x quits working to install your rom of choice and you absolutely have to.

    also,youll want to delete the PB31IMG file from the root of your card(or hide it in another folder) so that youre not asked to update every time you go into hboot.
     
  10. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    A simple solution would be to stop using ROM Manager. It's not a necessity, people use it because it's "easier". I've never used it and unless it becomes the only way to flash and backup I never will
     
  11. JLyndon

    JLyndon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Yeah, I've done all that. I was just trying to get back, if possible, to a version of ROM manager that would allow me to install and backup the ROMs easily without having to do it manually from CWM 2.5.x.x (like it used to do before CWM 3.x). I get an error when trying to do it through ROM Manager, but at least it quits on the screen with the pretty GREEN text, lol. It doesn't tell me what happened, it just says that a log file has been created and I can submit it through ROM manager. Oh well... I guess ROM Manager gets screwed up once you go to CWM 3.x, so it is pretty useless to me now.
     
  12. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i agree with this 100%. only thing i ever used rom manager for was to flash the alternate recovery,but now i have a PB31IMG file for that,so i dont use it at all.
     
  13. JLyndon

    JLyndon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Yep, that's going to be my solution... just use CWM 2.5.x manually.

    I find it odd that RM will still let me download a ROM that it can't install... Skyraider Sense, for example :thinking:.
     
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    see above... youre much better off getting used to how it looks and feels to install roms in recovery. its much more reliable. i would strongly recomend sticking with clockwork 2.5.x.x or RA_GNM and not using rom manager at all.
     
  15. nnatic

    nnatic Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    40
    5
    16
    i have myn's rom installed. when i downgrade will it remove the rom or do a reset or anything?

    i want to downgrade but dont want to start my phone over again.
     
  16. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    Nope. Nothing wierd will happen. Just be aware that clockwork 2.5.x.x will not restore any backups made with 3.x.x.x, so you might want to make a backup of your rom with 2.5.x.x before making other changes
     
  17. nnatic

    nnatic Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    40
    5
    16
    Thanks for the help / reply. ill be doing this now then... too many issues trying to install things with previously written files.
     
  18. nnatic

    nnatic Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    40
    5
    16
    ugh.. now i need to reformat my damn SD to fat32 lol... it is currently fat. Oh the little quirks and joys of playing with roms and such ha ha
     

Share This Page

Loading...