1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Stuck on htc screen after flashing blackice rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pz1982, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. pz1982

    pz1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Hey guys. Have been rooted for a few months now and not come across any major issues until now. Have used cm7, virtuous, leedroid and am currently running rcmix. I have been trying to flash blackice. Backed up my current rom. Have carried out a full wipe as usual as well as the extra full wipe as recommended then flashed the blackice zip (downloaded from xda) and the add on for blackice apps. Rebooted the phone and it keeps getting stuck on the white htc screen. Have waited for about half hour but still stuck on the same screen. Had to pull the battery in the end and have restored rcmix. Any ideas on what's causing this to happen? Any help greatly appreciated :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Did you check that it had the correct MD5 checksum?? Could have been a corrupt zip?
     
  3. pz1982

    pz1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    29
    0
    15

    Thanks for your swift reply. I checked the md5 checksum all ok. I forgot to mention also had a problem when I tried to flash absolution rom... Did not get stuck on htc screen but rebooted back into cwm after flash and reboot (not sure of the relevance)
     
  4. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Where did you get the ROM from? Could you provide a link?
     
  5. pz1982

    pz1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    29
    0
    15

    Sure:
    http://blackice.omca.co.uk/download/
    V 1.25
     
  6. pz1982

    pz1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    29
    0
    15

    Via the xda site on the ROM thread for blackICE
     
  7. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Hmmm... it does look ok, but then I've not used this ROM before... you did say that you downloaded it from XDA though... the link you provided is not an XDA link - I guess that's where it was linked from XDA?
     
  8. pz1982

    pz1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Yeah that's where I found the link.
     
  9. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    These things can happen bootloops, stuck at splash screens, worth going back into recovery doing a full wipe again and installing again. I give ROM's a 3 strike and your out rule. If the md5 matches and you get this 3 times pack in and move on after putting a comment on the dev thread on XDA.
     
  10. pz1982

    pz1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    29
    0
    15

    Will try again after the weekend and let u guys know if I find a resolution :)
     
  11. DCTEN

    DCTEN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    184
    4
    36
    tried blackice but found that things kept FC so back to CM7 it was.:)
     
  12. PirRab

    PirRab Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    Hi all this is my first time posting on here. I have been following this thread closely as I have had the very same issue on my HTC Desire and I believe I have solved this after hours of messing with my phone.

    Just to make sure that the cause of your issue is the same as mine when you go into recovery mode under the option mounts and storage there see if your sd-ext is mount if it is not that then this is the same problem I had. In order for it to remount you need to clear you dalvik-cache. For some reason this solves it, if you go back to the mount and storage again you will see that the sd-ext is mounted again. Restart your phone and it will work.

    NOTE: THIS ISN'T A PERMANENT FIX!! Because if you reboot your phone again the same thing will happen and you will have to do the steps again. I am in the process of trying to come up with a permanent way of clearing the cache without having to go into recovery mode every single time!

    Please let me know if this works for you guys. Hope it helps!!!
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  13. PirRab

    PirRab Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    I have found a permanent solution to this.

    1) You will need to have Script Manager installed which you can get from the Market.

    2) Open the app make sure to give it SU permissions and set it to load from root.

    3) The directory /mnt/sdcard is displayed this is what you can see on the card normally. Press menu and click on new then click on script.

    4) Give your script a name you can name it whatever you want it to be.

    5)"Open with.." window should be displayed select SM Editor.

    6)Now this is important DO NOT DELETE the first line you see!! and underneath it type in the following:

    mount /sd-ext

    7) Save it, then you should be able to see it in the directory. Click on the file you just created and give it SU rights and select the run boot options and then hit save again.

    Thats it your done you should have no more problems with restarting your phone.

    Please let me know if this works for you!
     

Share This Page

Loading...