1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Stuck on HTC screen after reboot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by only1pj, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. only1pj

    only1pj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    So my HTC Desire S stopped working a while ago and so I stashed it away after receiving a replacement but I have decided to try to get it up and running for my girlfriend.
    It was stuck in a reboot loop for a while but after some investigation was advised to clone the SD card from my new Desire S. I tried this and it helped a little - got out of the reboot loop and loaded up. But when I unlock the screen I get error messages galore and then a plain white screen with HTC in the middle and nothing else.
    Have tried reboots and restoring to Factory settings but nothing.
    Now I am not well versed in ROMs and rooting and such like so if someone can explain how to help in a 'paint-by-numbers' kind of way I will be most grateful.

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement

  2. only1pj

    only1pj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    OK, so now we're back to the reboot loop. Any ideas anyone?
     
  3. notebook

    notebook Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    732
    169
    93
    So they didn't request you hand the phone back and now you have a free phone? Sounds like a bargain! Which service provider was this with, assuming your phone is unbranded?

    If you're certain you won't have to send it back at all, then you'll first have to try to root the phone. I've no idea if this will work given that there already seems to be a problem with it. There is a risk of you increasing the 'brickedness' of the phone and invalidating the warranty should you ever need to have it repaired.

    Go here, read the instructions and then root your phone using the software they provide.

    After that, I'd flash the earliest branded ROM to your phone to establish if it was just a faulty ROM that was causing the problem or hardware. So, if your phone is Orange, flash an Orange ROM; if O2, flash an O2 ROM; if HTC only, flash their stock ROM, etc.

    You can do this by following these instructions. RUUs can be installed when run from your PC and connected to your phone via the USB cable. This should, fingers crossed, overwrite the ROM on your phone with a working one and unroot your phone. Use this list of ROMs (RUU) to find the one suitable for your phone. They're all earliest ROMs.

    If all works, then you can either keep things as they are, or root again to change to a different stock or custom ROM, and keep your phone S-OFF or rooted. See InfernalByte's guide for more.
     
  4. only1pj

    only1pj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks for trying to help. It all looked promising but the S-OFF software 'failed to find root'. So if there's anything else anyone can think of then please keep the suggestions coming!
     
  5. notebook

    notebook Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    732
    169
    93
    Are you able to check the boot screen?

    Power down your phone, then, while holding the down volume button, power on your phone.

    From the top, you should see a list of information starting with SAGA PVT SHIP, etc. Can you tell us what those first 4 or 5 lines say, especially the SAGA and HBOOT lines?
     
  6. only1pj

    only1pj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    SAGA PVT SHIP S-ON RL
    HBOOT-0.98.0000
    RADIO-38.03.02.11_M
    eMMC-boot
    Mar 10 2011,14:58:38
     
  7. notebook

    notebook Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    732
    169
    93
    That tells us you haven't got passed the first step. However, your phone and HBOOT version is compatible with the Revolutionary tool. The error you've got is usually because the phone needs to be in a factory reset state before using Revolutionary.

    So, try this

    1) Do a factory reset

    2) Use Revolutionary

    And in case you haven't, remember to install the HTC Fastboot drivers to your PC.
     
  8. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,645
    299
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Try running an RUU, what country and provider are you with? Go to "shippedroms" and download it, I'll then give you instructions on how to PB99IMG.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...