1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Stuck on Red Eye Camera screen on bootup

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KaHOnas, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. KaHOnas

    KaHOnas Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    13
    4
    16
    I'm not entirely sure this is a root problem, though my phone is rooted.

    Incredible 2, with Revolutionary. Android 2.3.3, software number 2.18.605.3

    Phone was working fine yesterday. I decided to update some of my apps (HBO Go, Angry Birds, ASTRO, Titanium Backup and a few others). When I was updating, I got the "your phone is running out of space" message so I decide to move some apps to the SD card. After doing several of these, I could no longer access the home screen by pressing the home button. I'd press the button and I'd get the haptic feedback but the screen would do nothing. The back button just cycled though the previous screens I had open.

    I decide to just power down and boot up again. I restarted the phone and it progressed just fine until it got to the red eye camera lens screen. Normally it sits there for some time but this was even longer than normal. I could go nowhere. Oddly, when my wife called, I was able to answer and talk to her, but I still couldn't get to the main screen. I was, however, able to access the settings menu now. Figuring I screwed up something, I go to the applications menu and looked at what had been moved to the SD card. It turns out HTC Sync (version 900) was now on the SD card. Oops. I figured that didn't belong so I moved it back to the phone. It gave me the message saying "system files can't be moved to external media". Yeah, got it. How it got ON external media to start with, I don't know.

    Anyway, moving it back to the phone has had no effect. It's still hanging on startup. I can access the hBoot and Revolutionary screens but would like to avoid a reset if at all possible.

    Does anyone have any idea what's going on? This is not the typical "hung up on the HTC screen" problem. It's odd because the phone seems to work fine~ish, at least I can get to certain menus; I just need for someone to call me before I can get into the phone. Am I being clear? Please, ask for any clarification you need; I'm sure I'm missing something.

    Thanks all!
     

    Advertisement

  2. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    wow that is indeed a very odd prollem. i would prolly boot to recovery,make a backup,and try doing a full wipe. if you are still unable to boot,i would run an ruu.

    after you have a working phone again,you can try restoring the previous backup and see if it restores you to a non-working phone again.
     
    KaHOnas likes this.
  3. KaHOnas

    KaHOnas Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    13
    4
    16
    I just ran Recovery. I backed up and wiped. The phone works as advertised. Then I recovered the image I saved to the SD and it pulled the same old crap. So, I'm assuming it's a software corruption or something. What I'm doing now is using "advanced recover" and recovering individual parts and seeing how it goes. I'll get back when I figure out what the heck is going on.

    Edit:

    Recovering Data off of "advanced recover" resulted in the same issue
    Factory reset
    Recovering System allowed for a boot up without issue

    Edit:
    Recovered everything except "data" without issue. Is there any way to get some stuff out of "data" back? That's really the stuff I didn't want to lose. Some stuff I can live without, but I would like to not have lost my SMS/MMS, ....Angry Birds... (hey, I worked hard on some of that), et cetera? I can re-download most of the apps and I'm pretty sure it's an app, not data, that's screwing everything up.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  4. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    do you have the things you dont want to lose backed up with titanium? ideally you could start afresh,and just restore your user apps. youll have to manually reset ringtones,wallpaper,etc.

    glad that got you up and running,anyway :)
     
  5. KaHOnas

    KaHOnas Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    13
    4
    16
    I have some "titaniumally" backed up, but the last one I did was a few months back. I know; I'm terrible at this. I'm wondering if I could somehow either recover some info from the backup on the SD or is I could recover the bad backup and force a boot in order to just back up some of the stuff. I know it's in there.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  6. KaHOnas

    KaHOnas Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    13
    4
    16
    Although I was unable to get into the app list, I was able to use the voice search to get into Titanium Backup which allowed me to run anything on the phone. SMS Backup & Restore got all my messages backed up. Titanium Backup got everything else I wanted.

    The phone got reset via CWM, and everything was restored like nothing ever happened. I'm grateful to everyone who helped (or provided info via a post) me get root access as this would have resulted in me losing everything.

    You people rock!
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  7. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    awsome! glad you got it all figured out. thats a very clever way to get your apps backed up :smokingsomb:

    titanium does have the ability to schedule backups for you,so you dont have to remember to do it. might consider setting a shcedule or just manually running some backups once a week or so :)
     
  8. KaHOnas

    KaHOnas Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    13
    4
    16
    I have since gone ahead and got the paid version of TB. I mean, it saved my Angry Birds and Tank Hero progress so I figured it's the least I could do!

    I'm being serious, though, when I say I owe a bunch to this list, particularly to you, Scotty! I love having a phone I can mess around with and I couldn't have done it without the help from this list. You guys rock! \m/
     
  9. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    awsome! glad we could help :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...