1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Stuck on splash, trying to install CM7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fruban, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
    The title says it all. Given it plenty of time, and it's stuck on the slash screen. Yes, I wiped data/cache/dalvik.

    I tried first to install gapps before booting up, and got stuck on the splash screen. Had to pull the battery. Wiped data/cache/dalvik again and reflashed CM7 and tried booting without the gapps- same issue.

    I'm using MR2, installed just after it came out IIRC. Haven't tried reflashing that. I'm going to use my backup and make sure I can at least get back into that. I can still get back into recovery and hboot if I pull the battery to get it to turn off.

    Any thoughts? Would love some help! :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    When all else fails I wipe /system usually it is not needed but it can help. Did you check the MD5 sum before you flashed?
     
  3. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
    Sure did. Used the link found on the CM7 post here.

    [ROM] CM7 for Thunderbolt. RC1.7 Updated 8-31 9:33PM EST

    Thing is, the md5 sum in the OP here is different than the one listed under the file name here: http://goo-inside.me/cm/mecha/rc/update-cm-7.1.0-RC1.7-Thunderbolt-MR-2-signed.zip

    Although the md5 sum listed in the second link i just posted here DOES match the actual downloaded file, unlike in the CM7 OP.

    I may try the system wipe. Will that get rid of my media though?
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Wiping /system will just wipe your /system folder on the root of your phone. It shouldn't touch anything on the SD card.
     
  5. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
  6. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
    I found the option to format /system, so I tried that and I'm having the same issue.
     
  7. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Are you running an up to date version of CWM? You may need to flash the most current version (find it in the radios, recoveries, and hboot sticky)
     
    Fruban likes this.
  8. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
    LOL wow I'm using an old version of CWM... 3.1.0.2.

    I'm not used to flashing CWM... anything special I need to know or can I just flash it through hboot after renaming it? It wont mess up anything that's already installed?

    Also, though I'm pretty sure I installed the official radio release, which one of those correlates to the radio versions on the sticky?
     
  9. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Yeah it is an hboot flash
     
  10. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
    Awesome! finally booted! Had no idea the CWM could affect something like that. I also verified that I am in fact using the official radio release: 1.39.00.0627r

    Now hopefully I'll have a smooth run of CM7. In the past when I've tried it I've never had the same success that others have had with it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...