1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root stuck on white evo screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RunVert, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. RunVert

    RunVert Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    238
    12
    38
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    I made a nandroid while using myn 2.2 last night, and every time I attempt to recover it from clockwork, it sits at the white screen..and does nothing.
    I wiped dalvic and cache prior to making the backup.

    and have since wiped dalvic and cache again, just to see if it would work..and nothing.

    I do have another nandroid backup of myn 2.2 that works. It is the backup I made right after I flashed it. The nandroid that I am trying to get to was made a few days later and has all of my settings/kernel/apps that I have added to the ROM since first flashing it.
    I could just restore the original nandroid, but I dont feel like going through all the settings and finding and configuring the apps/settings again...etc

    Is there something else I can do to restore this nandroid backup?

    ...on a side note, is it possible that my clockwork recovery needs to be updated to restore my nandroid? I have version "v3.0.0.5"
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    it could be just a bad nandroid backup. i had similar issues with clockwork mod where some of my nandroids did not work and so i switched to amon ra 2.3 and never had a problem. updating to a more current clockwork mod i don't think will help. you may just have to start over and go back to the original, unfortunatley.:(
     
  3. RunVert

    RunVert Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    238
    12
    38
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    I have never used amon ra recovery.
    Could you explain, or provide a link that explains, how it works?


    ie:
    is it an app?
    where to download it?
    how to install it?
    ..etc
     
  4. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    RunVert likes this.
  5. RunVert

    RunVert Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    238
    12
    38
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    one more thing...
    Is it be possible to recover a nandroid backup made in clockwork, from Amon Ra ?
    Or do they have their own backups that are specific to Amon Ra?
     
  6. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Once you flash Amon, you will not be able to use Amon to restore a nandroid from CWM. You will need to make new ones afterward.
     
  7. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Hes baaaaack :)
     
  8. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    SHHHHHHH!!!! I am hiding! ;)
     
  9. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    From whom? me? :) lol

    so i dont randomly give you shit like always? well...fail.
     
  10. RunVert

    RunVert Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    238
    12
    38
    Fort Collins, Colorado

    awesome. thanks!
     
  11. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    yay xtreme is back!
     
  12. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    and then gone as quickly as he showed up...
     
  13. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Nah, just had to leave work and get home for dinner. :cool:
     
  14. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    1) If you ever come across a nandroid backup that restores without errors, but then won't boot, the very first thing you should try is to wipe cache/dalvik. Of course, you already did that, and it didn't fix it. The next step is to reflash the ROM without wiping data. That will undo any other mods you've flashed (different kernel, etc.), but you wouldn't lose data or settings. It'd basically leave /data alone, and overwrite /system, which will save you a lot of time if it works.

    2) In theory, you should be able to take the .img files from a CW backup and restore them in RA, and vice versa. They are created the same way. It would just take a little formatting with directories and some other files to set it up right, but I bet we could make it work. I've thought about making a script to automate it and try it out. Maybe I'll play around with that over the weekend.
     
    ocnbrze, RunVert and Mr. Ed like this.
  15. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78

    I loved having u two in my back pocket. For when I got in a jam Or need some explaining... but are we going to go back to both of u powering answer in a thread and it being the same answer and the later having to post ttwice...... once to give the answer and the next to say.."aww dame he beet me too it"... lmao....
     
  16. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Lol I do miss those days. Extreme apparently got a life all the sudden lol.
     
  17. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    He has been popping in and out last couple of days ... its hard I guess to keep answering ..." what rom should I flash".. that's all that has been. Showing up lately... did The Guy with the recovery problem and possibly having to flash a ruu ever post today?
     
  18. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    No not yet, akaza dropped by with some ideas but basically it's flashing hboot or the entire ruu depending on what hboot he has and what it came with. He hasn't come by for help today though lol
     
  19. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    Hope he did not give up!
     
  20. RunVert

    RunVert Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    238
    12
    38
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    So, I flashed Amon Ra, made the backup and was able to restore my current ROM.
    The last few weeks it has been hit or miss when making nandroids using clockwork. (as in it loads up then hits the white screen and freezes). Pretty annoying and frustrating!

    Hopefully Amon Ra will be more dependable!

    Still have my nandroids in my clockwork folder on my phone and also on my CPU. Not sure what to do with these now that I am using Amon Ra...

    ...Thanks for the input!
     
  21. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    you technically dont need em, esp on your sd card, and id delete them from the card because of the incompatibility with amon ra on your phone and the fact that theyre about 250 MB each. like it was previously stated, in theory they should work with eachother, but ive never tried a cwm nandroid restore in amon and from what ive heard, it dont work lol but if youre not strapped for space on your 'puter. why not, right? lol
     
  22. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Nah, life and work finally caught up to me. Work got busier and kids spring sports started so not much time to do things I want for a bit now.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...