1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support stuck recent

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GregT, Jan 21, 2014.

  1. GregT

    GregT Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014

    Jan 21, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    When launching the messenging app and selecting new.message and then recent, a recipient appears that is marked not saved. It is not in any contact list and I can not delete it by clearing any logs etc. Any help getttting rid of this orphan.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,968
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,968
    35,414
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Hi Greg. Welcome to Android Forums.

    You may be able to get rid of it by going to menu>settings>applications and finding the messaging app. Then tap on it and select clear cache and then clear data. Reboot your phone.

    Mind you this will remove all message threads so if you want to save any of them, back them up first.
     
  3. GregT

    GregT Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014

    Jan 21, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Tried that... No change.
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,968
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,968
    35,414
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Are you using hangouts for messaging? I don't see a "recent" selection in my messaging app. Let me know your phone model and android version. It might be a carrier app.
     
  5. GregT

    GregT Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014

    Jan 21, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Just a stock Captivate running 2.2 Stock message app.
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,968
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,968
    35,414
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Oh boy ... that's pretty old school ;)

    Sounds like it's part of the TouchWiz stuff that came with it when it was new. My captivate hasn't seen stock for a year. Sorry, I don't remember very much about TouchWiz settings. Maybe someone else with a stock phone could help you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...