1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SU binary disappeared

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aimzzz, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. aimzzz

    aimzzz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013

    Nov 18, 2013
    149
    22
    48
    Female
    Knoxville, TN
    n00b loses root

    I rooted with Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v32 from xda, which was recommended for the Flash by some users on this forum and some others. (Root MANY ANDROID! [Upd: 14.12.2013] - Updated to new Root method - xda-developers)

    Everything was great for several days. Then I suddenly lost root.

    Opened SuperSU & got this msg:
    There is no su binary installed & SuperSU cannot install it

    Phone isn't bricked or anything-- everything else has been working fine.

    There isn't a recovery image, or if there is I don't know how to access it. I'm not sure if it's possible without root

    I did a factory reset & ran the root setup again. The su binary wasn't reinstalled. Today I saw that "Root MANY ANDROID" has been updated so I did another reset & ran the root setup. Still no su binary

    I'm not even sure what I may have done to lose su binary unless maybe I disabled something important. Since I don't know enough, I didn't mess around with things except with Titanium Backup & Root Explorer (at least not that I'm aware of).

    How do I go about getting su binary back? :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Well ...

    See, it's this way ...

    To install the binary you have to be rooted. But you're installing the binary because you're not rooted. So ... round and round and ...

    Rooting programs usually exploit something Google or the manufacturer overlooked - some "back door". If the bootloader isn't locked, you can root some phones using adb.

    But the easiest way, if you have the patience to wait for the site to come up (it can be very quick, but it usually takes a few minutes) is Kingo

    No guarantee that they have an exploit for your phone, but if they don't, the program just won't do anything. (And it'll let you know it can't root the phone.)

    What it sounds like to me is that in your case someone figured out the exploit being used to root the phone and patched it, then your phone got an update with the patch (which also removed su). Which is one reason Kingo is so secretive about what it does - if they don't announce how they're doing it, the manufacturer can't patch them out.
     
    aimzzz likes this.
  3. aimzzz

    aimzzz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013

    Nov 18, 2013
    149
    22
    48
    Female
    Knoxville, TN
    Hmmm... there have been more system updates than I expected. I should have noted the dates to help in troubleshooting.

    The Kingo page just loaded... maybe there's hope :d

    EDIT: sounds too good to be true! Downloading...
     
  4. aimzzz

    aimzzz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013

    Nov 18, 2013
    149
    22
    48
    Female
    Knoxville, TN
    It failed-- says: need ADB. What is it & where could I get it?

    EDIT:
    googled-- looks messy.
     
  5. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Nah, it's a click and install, and then forget you have it if you don't need it again. But it is the connecting program for Android phones.
     
    aimzzz likes this.
  6. aimzzz

    aimzzz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013

    Nov 18, 2013
    149
    22
    48
    Female
    Knoxville, TN
    Do you mean I can just install ADB & Kingo might work? Do I install SDK, or can ADB be installed alone? Where do I get it? :)

    EDIT:
    Well, there are some ADB apps at the market-- one called "ADB Toggle" for the unrooted & some ADB WiFi apps. Is something like that the ticket?

    EDIT2:
    Nevermind... see next post :D
     
  7. aimzzz

    aimzzz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013

    Nov 18, 2013
    149
    22
    48
    Female
    Knoxville, TN
    WOOO-HOOOOO!!!!

    Rooted!!!
    Thank you soooo much. I installed the "ADB Toggle" app. It requires a Bluetooth connection simultaneous to the USB connection.

    SuperuserSU, TB & root explorer all working!

    You must have been right about an update closing one of the back doors

    :beer:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...