1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Success! Transformer tethered without root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by entiel, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. entiel

    entiel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    17
    3
    16
    The Pineywoods
    Folks, PdaNet has released beta software, PdaNet Tablet, to tether the transformer to an android phone, without having to root the tablet.

    Android Market

    Appbrain

    [​IMG]

    The software is buggy, but it works with my EVO 4G via bluetooth.

    You must install the app on both the tablet and the phone.
     

    Advertisement

    ams30gts and meemoo752 like this.
  2. Gunner

    Gunner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    660
    89
    78
    BT tethering can already be done via Wireless Tether, if your phone is rooted. No need to install anything on the TF. I do this w/ my Droid 1 and TF.

    But thanks for the 411 anyway.
     
  3. kampfwolf09

    kampfwolf09 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    144
    20
    38
    NC
    I was BT tethering with just PdaNet on my non-rooted DroidX, just enabled tethering options on the TF. I am glad though they have came out with an app for tablets.
     
  4. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    620
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    620
    49
    88
    Software Professional
    SF Bay Area
    /\ This! /\

    Works great too.
     
  5. 89macrunner

    89macrunner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I can tether my jailbroken iPhone to my TF over Bluetooth. However, the TF does not recognize ad-hoc networks.
     
  6. Geochris35

    Geochris35 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I love you! I have been searching forever for a way to tether without routing. Installed this and its working great! Thank you.
     
  7. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    537
    55
    98
    socal
    But apps don't recognize Internet connectivity (besides the browser)
     
  8. Matthiasdb

    Matthiasdb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    48
    4
    16
    department head
    Belgium - Ghent
    Why should tethering be so hard?
    I set up my Desire HD with the built in "Wireless hot spot" functionality and connect my Transformer to that network and done.

    no extra apps, no bugs, just how it is supposed to be and everything works like I would be connected to a normal wifi router.

    Why are there some many problems with tethering? People talking about operators blocking it... I really don't understand. My operator has no business looking at what I do with the 2GB's I pay for (prepaid 15 euros a month for calling, 2GB free and unlimited texts :D)
     
    antibt likes this.
  9. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    ^^^I agree...I just start Mobile AP on my rooted captivate and let the wifi on the tablet connect to the Mobile AP
     
  10. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    537
    55
    98
    socal
    I agree about tethering when you are limited to the data to pay for anyways. I'm actually on the last network with true unlimited data (sprint). I still think i should be able to tether after paying $70 a month
     
  11. archercc

    archercc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    432
    68
    53
    I think some phones didnt support that type of wifi so people would want to use wired tethering. Also, would save phone's battery life.
     
  12. jwebbm109r

    jwebbm109r Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Network Admin
    Same here... I have tried everything short of rooting... This proxy app works great! It would be cool if other apps besides the browser would see the connection... but I'll take what I can get.

    It is working on my HTC Thunderbolt to Acer A500 Tablet
     
  13. Lucky Armpit

    Lucky Armpit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    674
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    674
    352
    133
    IT Manager
    Rocky Mount, NC
    I was using PDANet until they disappeared from the Market for a while. Since then, I've been using Bluetooth tethering to connect my Transformer to my Droid X. Works every time, and no 3rd-party application needed. Neither device is rooted either.
     
  14. viffer800

    viffer800 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    103
    10
    38
    I can't remember what the earliest firmware version is but one of the fairly recent updates enabled tethering to ad-hoc networks as 'standard'. I was easliy able to tether with my HD2 using wm6.5 and a WiFiRouter freeware programme. Easy peasy
     
  15. meemoo752

    meemoo752 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    44
    0
    35
    Nurse Educator, L&D nurse
    Fleetwood, Pennsylvania USA
    wow!! I was wondering how to do this...thank you, thank you, thank you!!!
     
  16. murzz

    murzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #242
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    461
    80
    63
    Male
    Civil Servant
    Edinburgh
    This. I have tethered like this from day 1 and it works seamlessly.
     
  17. AKA_Rizzo

    AKA_Rizzo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    61
    6
    16
    I use Barnacle on a Sony X10 2.1 and I run an AD-HOC network and I tether just fine.

    What's the big deal ?

    Unrooted Transformer with OTA updates from Asus.
     
  18. viffer800

    viffer800 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    103
    10
    38
  19. melynbeth

    melynbeth Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    69
    4
    16
    I'm feeling REALLY stupid for asking this but how do I get this app on my evo phone and vizio tablet?

    I've been searching for months for a tethering app. SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME! :)
     
  20. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    883
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    melynbeth
    Click on the 'Android Market' link in the first post.
    From there you should be able to install the app to both of your devices. (I'm just assuming the Vizio tablet is an Android device).
     
  21. melynbeth

    melynbeth Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    69
    4
    16
    I got it onto my tablet with no problem but when I click on it from my phone it tells me to log in to gmail but then keeps saying requested item could not be found. Any idea how to get the app on my phone?
     
  22. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    883
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Try going to the market using the app on your phone and search for it there.

    It's possible that the app is not compatible with the Android version on your phone, which is why it's 'not found'. When you click on the Android Market link above, does the page say "this app is compatible with ALL of your devices" or "this app is compatible with SOME of your devices" ?
     
  23. melynbeth

    melynbeth Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    69
    4
    16
    It doesn't say anything about being compatible. It just says it's going to download but when I click sign in nothing happens. I have an evo 4g. Any ideas suggestions?
     
  24. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    883
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Are you using that link on a PC or one of your Androids?
    If on Android try a PC, it SHOULD work there. By the way, the log on it's asking for is your Gmail, which is only useful to know if you can get it to show you the login screen.
     
  25. melynbeth

    melynbeth Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    69
    4
    16
    I visited it from my tablet no problem but can't seem to access from phone. How do I get around that? Anyone have the apk?
     

Share This Page

Loading...