1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Successful Hotspot tether on LG Connect

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by paarlberg, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. paarlberg

    paarlberg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    34
    0
    15
    I installed "Wifi Hotspot Widget" and it worked perfectly.

    It worked great today, my kids were surfing via the hotspot with their iPods for about 2 hours on the road around Atlanta without any issues. My wife was playing Angry Birds at the same time on my phone. I have to say, it was a quiet ride. [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. budde2

    budde2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    380
    48
    43
    brandon fl
    What was the network name

    Sent from my LG-MS840 using Tapatalk

    Never mind got wifi tether xda and works perfect faster than brighthouse wifi lol

    Sent from my LG-MS840 using Tapatalk

    I am getting speeds of 4 and 5 down and 2 up while tethering

    Sent from my LG-MS840 using Tapatalk
     
  3. xjosh2724x

    xjosh2724x Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    34
    2
    16
    Male
    you guys needed to root this phone to tether (Wifi Hotspot) right?
     
  4. Matlon

    Matlon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    93
    2
    16
    How did u manage to get it to work? Mine says error. I'm rooted but can't find ant apps to wifi tether.

    Cant seem to find this "Wifi Hotspot Widget"
     
  5. budde2

    budde2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    380
    48
    43
    brandon fl
  6. paarlberg

    paarlberg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    34
    0
    15
    This is the one I used from Play store
     

    Attached Files:

  7. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    so if metro catches you tethering will they cut your data usage off or something?
     
  8. datahead

    datahead Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    68
    16
    18
    First off, i used wifiadhocenabler.apk (look it up on google, requires root, and it patches a few files ) then i am able to use barnacle, wifi tether, foxfi, and just about anyof them wifi tether apps. I realy reccomend foxfi, as it dosnt report tethering to metro.
     
  9. kidthai

    kidthai Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    50
    2
    16

    I installed wifi adhoc enabler and everytime I try to enable adhoc, it tells me "Unable to modify ownership of supplicant.conf" Why is this?
     
  10. paarlberg

    paarlberg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    34
    0
    15
    Are you rooted?
     
  11. kidthai

    kidthai Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    50
    2
    16
    Yes I am
     
  12. paarlberg

    paarlberg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    34
    0
    15
    Do a google search for "wifi adhoc enabler supplicant.conf", there are some tips to fix the issue with adhoc connections.
     
  13. kidthai

    kidthai Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    50
    2
    16
    I did already, but no help. I guess I could wait.
     
  14. datahead

    datahead Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    68
    16
    18
    Same thing with me. But it seemed to allow my preferred wifi tether app ( FoxFi) to work. So for now, i would just ignore the error message since everything works
     
  15. paarlberg

    paarlberg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    34
    0
    15
    After the LG update, my tethering is gone :-(

    Was fun while it lasted.
     
  16. viceless

    viceless Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    47
    9
    16
    trololol and dslaven like this.
  17. OrKo

    OrKo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1,059
    108
    143
    Male
    I Cook
    Boynton Beach, Fl
    ^^This option works for me. I am rooted
     
  18. paarlberg

    paarlberg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    34
    0
    15
    Thanks, will give that a shot
     
  19. xjosh2724x

    xjosh2724x Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    34
    2
    16
    Male
    dslaven likes this.
  20. paarlberg

    paarlberg Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    34
    0
    15
    I tried the Wifi-Tether v3.1 beta11, but when browsing got the metro tether warning page.. :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...