1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Such a thing as redundant apps? Please help

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by libradawg, Jan 19, 2013.

1. libradawg

libradawg Lurker
    None

Jan 19, 2013
    Male
    MLB Prospect Blogger
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Hey, newbie here wondering about all these apps in the Google Play store. More specifically I'm talking about the Utilities apps. Lookout was my first download, followed closely by Advanced Task Killer. Then the trouble began when I went looking for file managers. It seems as if half the reviews and articles I read live and die with Astro while the other half would bet vital organs that ES File Explorer is better. It's even worse with battery savers, with about 5-6 apps claimed to be the best, some say "by far". It seems like the more research I do, the more certain I am I picked the wrong one.

I decided I probably couldn't go wrong and left my phone as-is. Then I stumbled across Advanced Mobile Care today, which basically claims to do all of that by itself. Five star user ratings and tech reviews seem to back that up. WTF?

Basically my question is: Is all this as complicated as I make it look in the first paragraph or is it actually as simple as the second paragraph? Phone space isn't exactly plentiful for me so I'd like to believe there really is a legitimate "jack of all trades" utility sufficient enough to handle all those tasks at such a reasonable price (it's free). I simply don't buy a word of that, though, especially with IOBit designing it. They cornered the market for PC programs that do everything possible as mediocre as possible.

1- What should I do? Listen to the Advanced Mobile Care reviews or listen to my gut? Is it even serviceable as a compliment to stand-alone apps?

2- Do any of the file managers, battery savers, program launchers, malware removers, task killers etc etc etc REALLY stand out from other similar apps?