1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root supernoob question about wiping

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 20phileagles, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. 20phileagles

    20phileagles Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    27
    1
    36
    404
    If I dl a boot animation from rom manager from skyraider it finishes the dl then gives the option to backup and wipe. Does this wipe wipe all system data as it does when you flash another rom, or does it just remove the old animation only.
    Thanks:)
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    wipes everything
     
    20phileagles likes this.
  3. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,680
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    So are you running Skyraider or just trying to get a custom boot animation to replace the stock 2.2 one? Anyway, my memory is fading on stock (if that's even the case here) but go to:

    /system/customize/resource and look for VZW_bootanimation.zip

    Once you get the new animation, rename it to VZW_bootanimation.zip and change it out with the one that's currently in that file location using Root Explorer while in read/write (R/W) mode. Reboot and the new animation should be there without the need for any wiping.

    If you're actually running Skyraider and wanting a different boot animation for it, make a nand backup first, then apply the new animation without a wipe. If any problems, revert via nandroid.
     
    20phileagles likes this.
  4. 20phileagles

    20phileagles Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    27
    1
    36
    404
    Ju
    Ok, im running skyraider 3.5. I've got everything right where I want it but I can't change from that damn dancing droid. I've dl other boot animations and it reboots but never changes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...