1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Swap on, swap off (swap activation for miui & cm7)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lordvincent 90, May 3, 2012.

  1. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    CLICK HERE

    This will use stl13(internal data partition) or create a file on sdcard to be used as swap.
    And give you options to create different sized swap files and levels of 'swappiness' (rate at which files are transferred to the swapfile)
    Just install terminal emulator
    And use these commands

    BUT AS ALWAYS MAKE A BACKUP FIRST
    Sry I'm not kewl like kouma, no app, but this would not have happened this soon without his help. He showed me my mistakes, and helped me get the data portion working (ok, he got the data portion working, because I'm slow and have fat fingers and make typos) thanks kouma you tha man :)

    To use the 'extswap' and 'bootswapfile' commands you must have /data on sdext as it mounts stl13 (the internal data partition) for this purpose

    ERRORS ARE NORMAL
    THE FILES REFERENCE BOTH sdcard and data partition...

    If you choose extswap, you will see errors regarding sdcard

    If you chose swapfile, you will get errors regarding /data-ext
     

    Advertisement

    wetbiker7, rm50, trenchkato and 3 others like this.
  2. tivofool

    tivofool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    175
    40
    43
    :adore:

    Has this been shown to improve performance? ymmv?
     
  3. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Seems snapper to me... Just note if using extswap some have experienced a force close with the larger size swapfile. I use extswap96 and it works great for me... But yes, YMMV
     
    rm50 likes this.
  4. rm50

    rm50 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    201
    33
    43
    I don't know that's pretty swappy
     
  5. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    huh, lol? I also use swp20 (but 40 & 60 also worked but some things lagged a bit @ 60... Idk what will be best for everybody, so that's why i included all the options from the original zip
     
  6. kristopher5823

    kristopher5823 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    418
    179
    68
    Dahlonega, GA
    its working great for me, but my sd card is on the ssm setup so when i set the swap it used my 3rd portion so i have like a gig set up for swap lol

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    That's awesome. Using swapper 2 correct? Did you have to repartition/format it to swap format out just place the file there.

    And i figured this would work on ctmod as well, but since kouma is rolling out the app, i figured i would leave well enough alone, since it will be much easier to setup with his app
     
  8. kristopher5823

    kristopher5823 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    418
    179
    68
    Dahlonega, GA
    I am using it on the miui just use to use ctmod with ssm just left the sd card how it was. I used swapper 2 and just created the swap file and that was it i did that you listed to do with terminal and thats it. worked like a charm
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.
  9. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    I figured that out after my reply... *Facepalm* i could add functionality for a 3 partition setup, if enough people are interested... [<vfat><ext1><ext2>]
     
  10. kristopher5823

    kristopher5823 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    418
    179
    68
    Dahlonega, GA
    It wouldn't hurt. thats what i am on right now and it works great. Its just that a lot of people don't know how to use adb to make the 3rd partition.
    So for some people the less complex it is the better ya know
     
  11. tivofool

    tivofool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    175
    40
    43
    You have to know that if you put something like this up, half-wits like me are going to try it. No clue what I was doing but everything on my phone still works great. May be a little better??? hard to tell, I wasn't having any lag.

    [​IMG]

    ???

    My Antutu Benchmark went from 2029 earlier in the day to 2061. That might vary too. dunno

    Anyways, good job :D

    Edit: oh yeah, if anyone looks at this and it looks borked tell me, I made a backup before I tried this. lol
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.
  12. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    The true test it when you try to do things that would normally bog the phone down. Like, to use kouma's example, flash games on facebook... Not to say that they will be fully functional, but you may get farther than without it.

    try playing with something that usually lags the phone, and see if it acts any smoother...
     
  13. kristopher5823

    kristopher5823 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    418
    179
    68
    Dahlonega, GA
    True what ill do is see what the "crashing" point is. Not really crashing but how much it takes for it to bog down really bad ill get back to you
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.
  14. rm50

    rm50 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    201
    33
    43
    I will havta try it out
    you are the lord of swap. Lol
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.
  15. jwh42000

    jwh42000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    392
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    392
    83
    73
    Kansas City, MO
    I'd be down
    for the 3rd partition. Still have mine from ctmod on ssm.
    Can confirm no more force closes since dropping it down to the extswap96 :D:D

    Super snappy!

    One more thing, my benchmark scores dropped since adding this I dunno :thinking:
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.
  16. kristopher5823

    kristopher5823 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    418
    179
    68
    Dahlonega, GA
    so i went on this game website that uses flash that use to lag really bad with just the website open. it seemed to do a lot better with this swap setup. so i tried to make it like it was before swap(make it lag as much as it did) so i had skype, yahoo messenger, google+ and facebook messenger all running. it took all that to make it lag like it did before the swap..... so really i thank you tons for making swap happen:D
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.
  17. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Mine dropped slightly too... but the actual user experience seems smoother to me... So screw the numbers :D lol
     
  18. kristopher5823

    kristopher5823 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    418
    179
    68
    Dahlonega, GA
    Yeah screw the numbers lol
     
  19. jwh42000

    jwh42000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    392
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    392
    83
    73
    Kansas City, MO
    Lol I know right. Plus running CPU Master pro, if I don't use my phone much, phone will last 3 days without a charge. Man good job on the swap. I just discovered an Ubuntu installer for windows. Like maybe it runs like an application. getting ready to fire it up
     
  20. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    In case anyone cares, sbp shell 3d works properly with swap enabled... Lagged to death before, now i was on the phone, with the launcher open, on the internet, and it took going to a flash enabled site to finally freeze it to the point where it wouldn't do anything :D:D:D
     
  21. tivofool

    tivofool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    175
    40
    43
    I ordered a new battery from Amazon for $6.45 free shipping today. nice to have a spare.

    NewSamsungBattery
     
  22. jwh42000

    jwh42000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    392
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    392
    83
    73
    Kansas City, MO
    That's a Hella good idea. What kind of quality?
     
  23. tivofool

    tivofool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    175
    40
    43
    A reviewer that has ordered from this vendor for his prevail said that they are Samsung OEM, he has got 2010 new batteries and 2011 new. So you hope to receive the 2011, but both will work well. I like the instructions that you condition it the first 3 charges to make the battery last.(run it all the way down and fully charge) After that you don't have to worry about when you put it on a charger.
     
    jwh42000 likes this.
  24. Koumajutsu

    Koumajutsu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    hmmm, maybe I'll buy a few of those for my homebrew extended battery project... muahahaha
     
  25. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Its so hard to tell if you're joking sometimes.. :eek::D
     

Share This Page

Loading...