1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Swapped phone, lost list of my apps ;\

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kraze0g, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. kraze0g

    kraze0g Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    60
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    507
    0
    60
    Chicago, IL
    well i finally got around to swapping my droid in for a new one today because of the camera issue i was having.. i told the lady working there what i was told about 'back up my settings' being checked on the old one and the new one when the wizard was running w/o opening marketplace until i saw confirmation that the apps installed on my status bar. well, she INSISTED that i was wrong about that and kept playin with the phone (setting it up behind the counter). she told me that after i put my gmail account info in, the list of my apps would be in the 'downloads' menu thing in the marketplace and i'd simply have to go open the marketplace after it sync's the list of my downloaded apps would be found there. well it's been a few hours now and the only app that it says ive downloaded is 'google maps'... now im wreckin my brain trying to figure out what apps i downloaded so that i can get everything back to normal (grr my memory sucks! i knew i shoulda wrote them down).

    i guess im just wondering if anyone has any idea on how i can get the list of apps that i downloaded on my gmail account to show up in the marketplace once again.. (like the lady said).. if not i guess its no big deal, when i need the app im sure i'll think of it and download it (otherwise i wouldn't of needed it in the first place) but it sure as heck annoyed me that she'd tell me i was wrong about doing that process and then tell me that they'd show up under downloads once it syncs.. im still hoping that it'll show up.

    any ideas? thx.!.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hegemony

    Hegemony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    313
    23
    38
    I write about technology for Maximum PC and Tested
    in the Transcend
    Only apps you've purchased will show up in that list. If the apps didn't sync down, all you'll see is purchased ones. So I assume you haven't bought any apps, only gotten free ones. You can just do a hard reset on the phone and let it sit so the apps will sync down. A friend of mine did that and it worked, but if you've been using it, it might not work anymore. I'm not sure at what point the settings of the new phone overwrite whatever cloud index of apps Google uses. It's all very nebulous...
     
  3. kraze0g

    kraze0g Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    60
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    507
    0
    60
    Chicago, IL
    yeh i didn't pay for any apps yet, but the lady assured me all the apps on my old phone would be there 'in a little while' ;\ oh well, i'm already well on my way to making a list of apps that i downloaded while my memory is still fresh. maybe that lady needs to come to this forum and read the thread about backing up your apps ! :p
     
  4. Hegemony

    Hegemony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    313
    23
    38
    I write about technology for Maximum PC and Tested
    in the Transcend
    If you back them up you don't get auto updates through the market. The auto-sync thing is super slick when it works though...
     
  5. clintiepoo

    clintiepoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    144
    7
    36
    Is there a workaround for this? I backed up a bunch of my apps, wiped my phone, and reinstalled all of them with astro. It would be nice to see the updates if they are available.
     
  6. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Me and another member (Redflea) have been trying to figure out where the Market database is stored on the DROID. After a lot of searching by both of us, nothin! Argh!...

    But maybe there's still hope. This is how I'm keeping my apps up-to-date.

    First of all, I use ASTRO to backup my apps, so I don't need the Market telling me what apps I have, or to automatically install them for me. The truth is, I'd rather install apps myself when I first load a new ROM anyway.

    I found an app called aTrackDog. It scans your DROID for apps installed, then it searches the Market and tells you which ones need updating. I've used it twice now, and it seems like it's doing it's job.

    Maybe this'll help. It appears to be working for me. Time will tell.
     

Share This Page

Loading...