1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Swapping apps on SD card to internal memory?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TokedUp, May 2, 2010.

  1. TokedUp

    TokedUp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    377
    38
    43
    I'd like to take some of the data that is automatically downloaded to the SD card and have it run off the internal memory. Is there a list of apps that allows this without problems?
     

    Advertisement

  2. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    I don't think thats possible as apps are unable to recognize the internal memory at this time.
     
  3. russell5

    russell5 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    206
    19
    58
    i had tried this by creating a symolic link (ln -s) between sdcard and internal memory but it wouldn't let me.
     
  4. TheSultan

    TheSultan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,482
    255
    183
    Operations Manager
    Rochester, NY
    this was one of the things people were a little pissy about a few weeks ago. the hard drive essentially has partitions in it allocating certain amounts of space for specific uses. It's not just one big space where you can throw all different things in.
     
  5. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    Exactly. All the dev's will need to update their app's so they can read and use the internal memory. Either that or Google has to do some serious coding to somehow let apps see the internal memory and SD memory, I don't see that happening without more phones starting to come with internal storage.
     
  6. russell5

    russell5 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    206
    19
    58
    I don't code android so i don't know but i wonder if the android has a default storage command. Like not hard linking it to /sdcard but something like $HOME but $STORAGE so the phone can put it where storage is available. either sd or internal.
    But again i don't code and android might not even have this option cuz inc is the first to come out with internal storage.
     
  7. TokedUp

    TokedUp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    377
    38
    43
    thanx for all the answers guys, really appreciate it. guess i'll just have to get a bigger SD card
     
  8. Mr.Slave

    Mr.Slave Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    271
    85
    53
    The only thing that we "could" do (we cant I tried) is change the name of the internal storage from emmc to sdcard but Astro won't let me rename it to this. That is the only thing holding us back is the naming of the internal storage.
     

Share This Page

Loading...