1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sweeter Home 2 beta

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by messenger13, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Yes!!! Just downloading it as I post this. Below is a copy & paste from the apps sub-forum from one punyweakling. ;)

    Remember to backup your theme(s) before installing. ;)


     

    Advertisement

  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I know it's early *crossing fingers*, but it seems that they really fixed a lot of stuff. I just installed my most intense theme and it's not choking on it like the last version. Pics are stable, widgets are working, life is good. :)
     
  3. 8-Bit-Soldier

    8-Bit-Soldier Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    258
    59
    73
    Atlanta
    Oh really, did he fix the FC problem? If so, I will come back to SH2 if he fixed all the problems. Right now Home ++ Beta is what I'm using.
     
  4. brocja01

    brocja01 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    225
    7
    36
    Thanks Joe for posting. I really liked this, but had a lot of force closes anytime I went into an app and then clicked the home button. I just downloaded this and installed and so far I'm really impressed. Seems speedy, no force closes (so far), and the theme I had "modified" loaded right up and only had to make a few tweaks and away it goes. What I love about this home replacement is that you can customize it where, by simply adding a single click, you can see the whole background. The Droid has an amazing screen, and I love being able to take advantage of still having a desktop full of icons, but you only see them when you want to.
     
  5. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    614
    36
    88
    Network Admin
    Indiana
    Ok, I give, I gotta give it a whirl LOL
     
  6. brocja01

    brocja01 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    225
    7
    36
    The only "issue" I'm having actually is when I'm inside of an app (ex: GMail) and I click on the home button, it takes about 5 - 7 seconds for the home screen to show. But after that, it is very fast.
     
  7. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Well . . . quite frankly, "giving SH a whirl" is kinda like taking a Formula One car for a little spin. It definitely takes some commitment. At first, you'll be like "What the heck is going on here?" . . . but then it will start to click. And you start reading the threads and pickup tips & tricks from us guys who have been toying with it for awhile.

    In short, there are no short-cuts really. Not if you want a truly custom theme of your own. Sure you can d/l themes from the Sweeter Home db, but they will still need customized with your apps, widgets, and what-not. I tried going that route, but found it easier just to learn the app and 'roll my own'.
     
  8. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I actually experienced some delays and general 'wackiness' for the first few minutes after installing my theme. But once it settle in, it's working really well. I think it may have had to rebuild it's cache or something. :thinking: Just a guess.
     
  9. Xritam

    Xritam Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    62
    2
    16
    Nice, about time.
     
  10. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    Using Home++ and loving the power strip on the bottom and it's simplicity.
    If I install SH, can I still switch home screens - Default, Home++, SH?
    I want to try it since I love customizations to begin (it's a sickness), but if it flops for me, I want to get right back into Home++.
    Also, when I am customizing one, I would like to be able to use the other for regularity.
    Nick
     
  11. Bramsy

    Bramsy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,516
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    1,516
    149
    163
    Awsome-o
    Birmingham, MI
    coolio, i thinks its time to check er out!!
     
  12. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    You don't have to UNinstall Home++ to try Sweeter Home. Though, if you don't choose a default, you'll have to tap on Home, Home++, or Sweeter Home every time you hit the Home button. That get's old quick.

    You can setup Sweeter Home anyway you can imagine. The "ONLY" thing you can't do with Sweeter Home is make the notification bar disappear. Frankly, I tried that for awhile back when I had Home++, but it really didn't work for me.

    Home++ has 7 screens. Big whoop! With SH's 5 screens, you can make them act like 20. The sky is the limit ... ridiculous.
     
  13. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    OK that's what I figured. I needed to ask, or with my luck, I would have installed it and all my Home++ customs would have disappeared along with my icons, lmao.

    With Home++, if you hold down the notifications button on the power strip it brings back the bar.
     
  14. RadYOacTiVe

    RadYOacTiVe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,588
    416
    163
    Male
    I toyed with Sweeterhome for a bit and it was a little overwhelming. The documentation on their site wasn't very helpful either.

    For someone like me with limited time (3 week old and 16 month) i don't have the time to figure things out on my own like i used to. If I had a guide to go by, that would be great otherwise I will just wait for 2.1.

    I have to say, I am impressed with what people are doing with this app!
     
  15. Soultics

    Soultics Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    164
    12
    38
    I'm still nervous about using SweeterHome2, since I was one of the "few" that had to factory reset their phones because of the no load thing. I'm glad they're still working on it though, it was great. I just don't have any desire to go through all that again...
     
  16. crosschecking

    crosschecking Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    77
    8
    16
    Male
    Raleigh, NC
    If I already have SW2 installed, do I need to uninstall it to run the new one? If so, does uninstalling remove the themes from your card? Sorry if I missed that detail.
     
  17. sh0ebox

    sh0ebox Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    142
    94
    53
    No you don't have to uninstall it. The new one will install over the old and all your themes will remain in place.
     
  18. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Your themes will NOT be deleted should you choose to uninstall the old version before installing the new. That's what I did. Just make sure your latest theme is indeed backed up. ;)
     
  19. crosschecking

    crosschecking Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    77
    8
    16
    Male
    Raleigh, NC
    Thanks guys for the quick response.
     
  20. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I actually had that happen to me a few times as well ... but I figured out a work-around. I put my DROID into my multimedia dock and it brought the unlock screen up! :eek: It worked every time that it didn't appear to finish booting. If you don't have a dock, you could've just put a magnet on the back of your DROID to activate the dock app. I did that too, as an experiment.

    FWIW, I haven't had anything like that happen with this version.
     
  21. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,440
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    1,440
    125
    143
    Looking for work!
    Florida
    I would not make SH2 your default home, that way it is not being loaded at boot. Wait until you are fully satisfied before making it your default. I keep my options open.
     
  22. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    So ... during editing, I'm still experiencing some hiccups. :eek: But once I stop editing, this release is AWESOME!!! It just WORKS! It is snappy. And I'm up to 4 screens + a landscape screen for CarDock mode. Yes!!!

    Oh, and I forgot to mention that all of my widgets are working flawlessly. :)
     
  23. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Try doing this with any other home-replacement app... :D

    Getting pretty close to the way I like it. No purty colors ... just function. ;)


    [​IMG]
     
  24. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Gonna pick this up now and give it a go. Looks like Joe needs to adjust his camera, those pictures are turning out kinda blurry ;)
     
  25. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Finally figured out what to do with my 5th desktop. I made a screen just dedicated to Speed Dials.
    Yea ... this app is pretty cool. :cool:


    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...