1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support SwiftKey 3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mmpotash, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. mmpotash

    mmpotash Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    44
    1
    16
    I have the Razr Maxx HD. I installed the paid version of SwiftKey 3. Every few days it disconnects itself with the note "unfortunately,com.touchtype keyboard has stopped". I have to uninstall it and reinstall to get it working but it continues to stop. It is my favorite keyboard when it works.

    Does anyone else have this issue? Any solution?
     

    Advertisement

  2. batwings1

    batwings1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    193
    26
    63
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I had this one time after my initial install of SwiftKey. I believe I just did a simulated battery pull (power + volume down keys) and that was the last time it happened. Good luck, SwiftKey is awesome.
     
  3. jwbeeler

    jwbeeler Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #465
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    279
    53
    53
    I've never had the issue. Have you installed other keyboards? If so, perhaps an uninstall of the other keyboard would fix the issue.
     
  4. mmpotash

    mmpotash Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    44
    1
    16
    No, I haven't installed other keyboards.
     
  5. usnrma

    usnrma Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    42
    0
    15
    Department of Homeland Security
    Greer, SC
    Did you try going into your apps and disabling the other keyboards such as the installed Swype? I think this might prevent them from interfering with Swiftkey.
     
  6. mmpotash

    mmpotash Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    44
    1
    16
    Removing other keyboards didn't help. I'm trying the simulated battery pull.
     
  7. mmpotash

    mmpotash Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    44
    1
    16
    The simulated battery pull didn't help. Any other ideas? If not, I'll wait for the next SwiftKey 3 update and see if that helps.
     
  8. hansangb

    hansangb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    289
    32
    53
    Have you contacted the developer? That may be your best option.
     
  9. mmpotash

    mmpotash Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    44
    1
    16
    I'll try that.
     
  10. aksikds

    aksikds Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013

    Feb 22, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    For me the issue was directly tied to my SD card. If you have an SD card installed I would suggest removing it, reinstalling swiftkey, and see if the problem disappears.
     
  11. dhbuckley

    dhbuckley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #595
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    220
    33
    43
    It just updated to 4 with "flow through space". Quite amazing. Try that and see if it fixes things. I think they've "deprecated" the numbers so it is just SwiftKey now. Probably a misuse of deprecated... ;-)... fun anyway just to say it...
     
  12. mmpotash

    mmpotash Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    44
    1
    16
    I'll try the newest version dated 2/22.
     
  13. dhbuckley

    dhbuckley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #595
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    220
    33
    43
    Let us know how it goes.
     
  14. mmpotash

    mmpotash Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    44
    1
    16
    Updating it didn't work. I'll try the SD card if I can.
     
  15. mmpotash

    mmpotash Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    44
    1
    16
    Removing the SD card worked! Thanks Eksikds.
     

Share This Page

Loading...