1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Swipe anywhere on lock screen to unlock?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chopper1, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. chopper1

    chopper1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012

    Feb 14, 2012
    17
    0
    35
    Hi all, I like having just the swipe to unlock option for my S4, but I find the drag-down box for editing the clock etc. really annoying when I go to swipe to unlock my phone. I'd like to be able to swipe anywhere on the screen to unlock the phone, rather than needing to be careful not to swipe near the clock, causing the drag-down box to appear. Is there a setting I can change to fix this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. android55555

    android55555 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    81
    4
    36
    I don't own an s4 but I saw in videos, go to "lock screen" in settings and check off "multiple widgets". Again, I don't have an s4 so I don't know if this will work.
     
  3. chopper1

    chopper1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012

    Feb 14, 2012
    17
    0
    35
    Multiple widgets is unchecked but unfortunately still having the same issue :(
     
  4. jdCaptivate

    jdCaptivate Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    The S4 is not a swipe anywhere unlock. Its the trade-off for having the ability for widgets and to edit the screen like that.

    UPDATE: Actually, as long as you swipe down/up it is. Up/down, inside that 1/3 of the screen, is to edit. With or without widgets.
     
  5. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    8,129
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    8,129
    4,502
    713
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    You need something to modify your status bar. I was using something like that a while back just to see what it did. I'll check and see if it had an option to turn off the status bar on the lock screen.
     
  6. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    8,129
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    8,129
    4,502
    713
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    It was Omega Status Bar and It didn't have that option. Sorry about that.
     
  7. chopper1

    chopper1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012

    Feb 14, 2012
    17
    0
    35
    Thanks for the replies. Looks like it's not possible to make this change to the lock screen but good to know anyway.
     
  8. mkutsman

    mkutsman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    16
    6
    16
    This may not be what you want exactly, but I recently added an option to powerCall https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mk.fastcall to unlock the device with power button double-click. It bypasses swipe lock screen. I am currently looking into an issue with this app on GS3 (stopped working after Jelly Bean upgrade, but works on many other devices in JB and others). Let me know if it does the trick on your device.
     

Share This Page

Loading...