1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Switch From Palm OS (Centro)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by salguod, Mar 9, 2011.

1. salguod

salguod Member
    None

Howdy folks. I'm new to the Android world, well not quite even new yet, my phone arrives on Friday the 11th. :D

My current phone is a Palm Centro, the last in a line of Palm based PDAs and smart phones. I have a question, first I'm sure of many, on how Android handles contacts.

On the Palm devices, you'd 'sync' your device to your PC, either to the Palm Desktop or to Outlook, which is what I did. I've been syncing with my home PC running Outlook 2003 and my work PC running Outlook 2010 with exchange. Sync would mean that the contact info existed in Outlook & on the phone. Change one, plug the phone in and sync and it's up to date.

With Android, you don't really sync, right, or do you? Does the contact data exist both in Gmail and on my Incredible or does my phone simply connect to the Gmail server and find the contacts?

I plan on connecting it to my work exchange server, so would those contact exist on my phone and exchange, or does the phone simply show what's in exchange?

In other words, if for some reason my phone cannot connect to Google or exchange, would I not be able to see my contacts?

Mostly I'm trying to understand because I'm pretty sure that Android is going to make me look at how I manage this data differently, not necessarily a bad thing. I may not want to have the same contact in both places, as I do now.

Thanks.

Advertisement

2. gruss

gruss Android Expert
    None

Feb 16, 2010
    IT
    Toledoish
    You could sync your outlook with gmail, its a fairly easy process then when you activate the phone it will pull them down. And yes you'll be able to see your contacts even with no data connection.

3. salguod

salguod Member
    None