1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Switching my Triumph to Verizon

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bike Rack, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. Bike Rack

    Bike Rack Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    Please excuse the possibly naive question from a root noob, but is it possible to modify a rooted Triumph to work on the Verizon network?
     

    Advertisement

  2. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    No. I don't believe you can do that in any way that is legal.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  3. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    213
    Being a pain in the a$$! LOL
    Chambersburg, Pa
    yeah it may be possible if you can convince them to add your esn... but like agent said it may be illegal somehow, but i dont know for sure
     
    scary alien likes this.
  4. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Off Topic, but as soon as I read 'that is legal' I started to laughing :rolleyes:


    ~~Phandroid/AdroidForums Do Not Support Users Recommending Illegal Activity~~
     
    scary alien likes this.
  5. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I wasn't recommending anything illegal. Just saying that technically it may be possible, but not legal as to my knowledge. So I would recommend against it. You could always call verizon and ask.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  6. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    I think the only company that will allow phones from other companies is Cricket (and gsm carriers of course). Flashing your phone your self and messing with the esn is going to void your warranty and is illegal... It is possible just it would be illegal and like agentc13 said I wouldn't recommend it. But if you want to still do it do a google search for switching esns or something that's all I'm going to say and I personally haven't done it myself, but have seen people wanting to switch evos to vm a while ago...
     
  7. envy5000

    envy5000 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    20
    0
    15
    To answer the op's question: yes it is possible with cdma ws and qpst. Wouldn't be worth going to the trouble of manually flashing the device. Postpaid verizon you can get any new phone you want and prepaid you wouldnt be able to access the web.
     
  8. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    You taking things personal, I was just putting that there as a note to others to not post anything against site guidelines.
     
  9. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Yeah, I was just making sure there was no doubt in what I was stating. ;)
     
  10. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,684
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Welcome to the AndroidForums, Bike Rack!

    I don't specifically know the answer to your question other than it usually takes the carrier or otherwise-authorized retailer to flash a phone that's normally used on a different carrier to their own network.

    I think the other guys above have already pretty adequately covered the whole legality thing and its discussion-ability here at AF (i.e., we don't allow that ;)).

    So, as long as things stay above-board, all is good here.

    Cheers!
     
    agentc13, NightAngel79 and Xyro like this.
  11. Bike Rack

    Bike Rack Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    I'm sorry if I raised a topic that is against forum policy. I was not aware such a procedure was illegal. Perhaps I didn't explain my objective, though. It wasn't my intention to steal service from Verizon, I simply wanted to use the Triumph on Verizon, with a legit account. So, that is a no-no?
     
    scary alien likes this.
  12. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    You are fine in what you asked. It could be interpreted in a bad way, no need to be sorry. The problem is most CDMA carriers won't let you use a phone from a different carrier. I know it is possible, but to do so is illegal in most cases.

    If you really want to use Verizon, then I would advise you to sell the Triumph and buy a Verizon phone.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  13. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Even with an account from verizon if they don't support flashing of phones to there service and you mess with your esn yourself its still illegal... If they supported flashing to their service it would be a bit different. But short answer yea its a no-no.

    Ninja-ed again!!! Arggh
     
    scary alien likes this.
  14. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    :D I am just super quick today! :D

    @Bike Rack - You should call Verizon and see what they say. I don't think it is possible to do what you want legally, but I could be wrong. Best to ask first! Good luck!
     
  15. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    I guess :/

    And i guess you could always call, I kinda doubt it but you never know... I think most cdma carriers don't take phones from other companies (with the exception of cricket), that's one thing that's better with gsm companies you can take a sim from one phone and put it in a different phone and it works and is legal...
     
  16. dsmryder

    dsmryder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    2,418
    502
    213
    mechanic
    NE Florida
    I know that MetroPCS would be glad to flash your phone to thier service. They don't always help with the text and web services, it's a nieche for them.
    Now that I think of it, I think Verizon works off of a different frequency band. That would be a big factor. That, and you would need to know how to access the radio to convert it. You wouldn't need to change the ESN. That's a dirty way to do things.
     
  17. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    I'm pretty sure all cdma networks work off of the same frequency... There's just a lot of factors in the phone's code determining what towers it connect to... Esn, meid, serial, etc.

    Edit: Here's a wiki that has the the frequencies... Even gsm carriers use the same frequencies...
     
  18. Cheechmo

    Cheechmo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011

    Dec 11, 2011
    81
    31
    23
    Tacoma, WA
    I'm pretty sure the Triumph (and most VM phones) only uses 1900 bands, whereas Verizon is predominantly using 850 MHz bands.
     
  19. thangfish

    thangfish Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    1,311
    352
    163
    Yeah, Verizon phones are dual band. The triumph is 1900 only.
    The other issue is that their prepaid plans are no cheaper than their contract, phone subsidy plans, so there's not much reason to not get a new bad ass phone from them, if one was so inclined.

    As has been discussed before, it IS technically possible, I think, because some sprint customers are allowed to roam on Verizon. But you couldn't get lte without a new phone.
     
  20. envy5000

    envy5000 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    20
    0
    15
    There are a wide variety of motorola phones that are similar to the triumph on the verizon network.
     

Share This Page

Loading...