1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Switching off 3g (Data)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mkl, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. Mkl

    Mkl Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi all.

    I'm quite new to Android and its functions. I just purchased the Samsung galaxy s fascinate with telus with 1gb of data.

    I was wondering if anyone can tell me if I can turn off the data on my phone, incase like someone who's using my phone uses up all my data.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tripplec

    tripplec Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    100
    1
    36
    Most androids have that ability in Settings but Samsung has not provided it there or in the pull down bar on the home screen either. Both HTC Desire and LG shine Plus do give you control easily.

    I don't know who looks at there package before release but it's the worst implementation of the respective Android code I have seen. Both 2.1 and 2.2. In 2.2 you can turn off packet data but it so obscure and you have to look for it. Sometimes I feel like going back to HTC for their software.
     
  3. PSkeptic

    PSkeptic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    905
    97
    78
    IT Project Manager
    Buffalo, NY USA
    You can get a widget like MiniInfo that will give you the option. Good news? It appears in Froyo, the switch in the pull-down is stock :)
     
  4. avenuePad

    avenuePad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    98
    14
    38
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Really? Do you mean the switch is in the pull down notification bar? I'm not seeing it there.
     
  5. tripplec

    tripplec Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    100
    1
    36
    Samsungs build of Froyo is terrible. Dead slow, very few widgets and this toggle doesn't exist.

    You can go to SETTINGS -> WIRELESS AND NEWWORK -> MOBILE NETWORKS -> USE PACKET DATA

    Uncheck packet data to turn it off. This is very very dumb to control that feature.
     
  6. tripplec

    tripplec Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    100
    1
    36
    Ok, I just stumbled on a better way testing out the screen capture feature (which didn't work for me).

    Press and hold the Power Button. Checkout the pop menu. Its there believe it or not. I would have sworn it wasn't there it someone said so but I see it now somehow.

    Oh well there you go.
     

Share This Page

Loading...