1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root switching ROMs?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by brandonmg99, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    185
    9
    56
    Student, Medical Supply Sales
    Bloomington, IN
    I made a nandroid back up right after I rooted my phone. Also made one of my current set up. I want to try out either apeX or rubiX 1.0 so can I just flash my "root only " backup and if I don't like it just flash back to my current set ups back up?
     

    Advertisement

  2. C0n57an71n3

    C0n57an71n3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    287
    26
    43
    How it SHOULD work:

    Go into Clockwork, backup and restore, back up, let it go.

    AFTER THAT

    Put ApeX/rubiX on your SD card
    Go into Clockwork
    mounts and storage
    format data
    format cache
    up on menu
    install zip from sd
    select zip from sd
    navigate to apex/rubix
    install

    Then if you decide you dislike it:

    go into Clockwork
    backup and restore
    restore
    select backup
    restore


    In theory it should work perfectly like that. I had that work for me before I started getting md5 mismatch errors.
     
  3. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    185
    9
    56
    Student, Medical Supply Sales
    Bloomington, IN
    thats what i was thinking of. i just didnt know if it was that easy or if i needed to sbf. id rather just take the nandroid route if itll work.
     
  4. JustJosh4

    JustJosh4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    69
    8
    16
    ApeX doesn't need to have the system mounted anymore I don't believe.
     
  5. jbass350z

    jbass350z Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    90
    2
    16
    Nandroid backs up all my settings and installed programs right?
     
  6. C0n57an71n3

    C0n57an71n3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    287
    26
    43
    Nandroid backs up three separate things: system, which is settings and pre-installed apps, data, which is downloaded apps and info, and cache.

    You can restore them separately or as a whole thing and get back EXACTLY how you were.
     
  7. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    185
    9
    56
    Student, Medical Supply Sales
    Bloomington, IN
    I have apex on my SD, rom mgr never seems to work right for me, so if I go through clockwork I don't need to mount the system?
     
  8. C0n57an71n3

    C0n57an71n3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    287
    26
    43
    No, no need to mount system.
     

Share This Page

Loading...