1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Switching the SD's - how to move all data/apps?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by yury2808, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. yury2808

    yury2808 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Hey all!

    I've ordered the 16gb class 10 to replace the default 4gb one (using navigation alot), is there something which can help me to move to new card one easily?

    I mean, with 2.2 - I moved all my apps to SD, and if I turn it off, would they just ... die somehow?

    Or it's enough to just copy all content from old SD to my PC and then back to new one? No tricks?

    ps. newbie on android, don't blame me :)

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. wickesy

    wickesy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    17
    4
    16
    That's the way I did it and I had no problems at all. :)
     
  3. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England
    Not sure how it works with apps on the sd card,but would like to know this myself.

    Probably best to wait for someone to confirm before trying to do a straight switch.
     
  4. liewbob

    liewbob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    56
    3
    16
    Biz Dev Consultant
    Piscataway, NJ
    That's how I did it (2G SanDisk SD Card to PC folder to 16G Kingston Class 10) and it worked fine - in spite of the fact that at the same time I went from stock 2.1 rev 1 with the old radio but rooted with Unrevoked 3 to Skyrider 2.2 (Froyo).
    I also did a Titanium restore from the backup from my new card with the backup that I originally made on my old Card.
    Actually, The Market & AppBrain were a bit quirky about installed apps and updates at first - but I solved that by running "Fix Permissions" in ROM Manager.
    I hadn't been able to get ROM Manager to do the actual upgrade to Skylark 2.2 - so I was thinking it was a waste :(. It turns out it wasn't :p

    PS I just noticed I'm replying to a post on the Desire Forum - so yo'll wanna know that I'm playing with an Incredible - dohhh
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...