1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Switching to 1.6 ROM, got a few ?'s.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by durandetto, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    I'm thinking about switching to a 1.6 ROM and would like a little more info. So here are my questions.

    1. What is the best (most functional, least buggy) 1.6 ROM out?
    2. How hard are they to install compared to fresh?
    3. Are there any simple step by steps?
    4. Does this allow you to be able to use 1.6 apps from the market? I really want to download Homerun Battle 3D.
    5. Do you have to wipe and if so what all do you lose?

    I'm on Win 7 64 bit and don't have Sync installed, if that makes a difference. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Ted
     

    Advertisement

  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    1.) AOSP 1.6 is the most common. However, the new Darchstar 2.0.1 is pretty sweet, if you can live without a few things for the time being.
    2.) They install exactly the same as fresh, they're just ROM's.
    3.) Same as any other ROM, except I suggest wiping before flashing a 1.6+ ROM.
    4.) Yes.
    5.) Yes, wipe. You'll lose pretty much everything (contacts and whatnot). If your contacts are google contacts, you've got no problems getting them back.

    Remember, none of the 1.6+ ROM's are complete, there's a couple things missing in each one, there's bugs. They seem to work pretty well though. I'm not sure any are really ready for everyday use unless you're experienced at flashing updates, themes, and anything else you want to put on.

    I do really miss the HTC Widgets, and am damn close to actually buying Beautiful Widgets...and I haven't bought an app yet (I'm BROKE beyond belief)
     
  3. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    I read some things about superuser and busybox, that you have to install via adb. I haven't done anything like that yet. I used pre-kitchen to root and all my themes I just download directly to my phone and flash them that way. All that terminal copy and paste shit seems overwhelming to me.
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    yeah, you have to put them on through adb. It's not hard, but if you're not experienced in it, it can be overwhelming.

    That's part of the reason I advocate rooting by entering the code manually, so you can do things via adb easier ;)
     
  5. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    How do you get the adb on you pc
     
  6. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    hit the start menu, and search for CMD. The command prompt is how you do it.

    Check this link for the basics from rooting: [GUIDE] How To Root The Sprint CDMA Hero (Windows) - xda-developers

    That tutorial should help a bit at getting all the necessary stuff, and the basic commands. I only say do this because I'm not sure if you have the "android-sdk-windows" folder on your computer
     
  7. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    No I don't really have anything on my computer, because I got a new computer after I rooted. My new computer is running Win 7 and I heard there is problems with sync and stuff, will this affect my ability to run the adb?
     
  8. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    Sync shouldn't have any effect on adb.

    As long as your computer recognizes your phone, you should be able to do it.

    If you can still make changes from the kitchen using that computer, then you can do it through adb as well.
     
  9. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    I followed the instructions from a link for the Win 7 work around and got sync working right. Now I just have get up the courage to do it. I might just try to reroot to the newer recovery image the manual way, to get my feet wet.
     
  10. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    Followed the instructions from XDA and it worked flawlessly. Did the back-up waiting for it to reboot. I tell you what this phone might lead me to a new career as an IT specialist.
     
  11. TheBiles

    TheBiles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    705
    159
    93
    Atlanta, GA
    See my sig.
     
  12. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    I really want to do this, but don't want to sacrifice any features. I don't care if it's just bluetooth, because I don't use it. What's all not working on your phone?
     
  13. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    With AOSP 1.6, I believe bluetooth was pretty much the only thing that wasn't working. The camcorder doesn't work either, and a few are apparently having SMS issues.

    That should be about it.

    Remember, you won't have sense, it's plain old android. 3 screens, and it's up to you to make it look/work the way you want it
     
  14. TheBiles

    TheBiles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    705
    159
    93
    Atlanta, GA
    GDE will make your home screen look beautiful again.
     
  15. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    So just run the wipe from the recovery screen? When you have to run the cmd prompts for busybox and the HTC keyboard do you need to enter any other commands before entering the ones they have listed or do you just enter them from the first line? Also do most of the available themes flash right over this without problems?
     
  16. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    Right, wipe from the recovery screen.

    You have to navigate to: "cd C:\android-sdk-windows\tools"
    to get to adb. might have to enter "adb shell" as well, I can't remember.

    Most themes should work just fine. Just make a nandroid of your stock 1.6 version before doing anything. That way, if you flash a theme that screws something up, you can just restore back real quick.
     
  17. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    One more question, what is busybox and would it be on my phone from flashing fresh 1.1? Just wondering because Titanium Backup requires it.
     
  18. TheBiles

    TheBiles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    705
    159
    93
    Atlanta, GA
    I had busybox already installed when I got Titanium Backup on 1.6, but I did have to update busybox from the Titanium Backup main menu to get the latest version.
     
  19. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    Same thing here. Had to update from the TB menu. Took two tries for it to work
     
  20. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    I just did the wipe, I don't have any paid apps and needed to clean house anyway.
     
  21. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    Well I changed my mind, I think I'm gonna go with Gumbo 1.5c and see what it's like since everything is working with that.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...