1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Swype app available for Incredible?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jdaa, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. jdaa

    jdaa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    A friend told me about the Swype app that works with texting. I did a search in Market Place and can't find it. Is it available for the Incredible?
     

    Advertisement

  2. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

  3. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    It's in a closed beta, and only available to a chosen few to test. Other, illicit means to acquire the .apk won't be discussed on Android Forums.
     
  4. cosmicreality

    cosmicreality Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    21
    5
    16
    The website where you can get swype is here: Swype | Text Input for Screens

    Currently, their beta program is closed. If you sign up on their email list, I believe they'll let you know when you can get it.

    Swype is not available in the market, afaik.
     
  5. Taylored

    Taylored Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    689
    60
    78
    IT Recruiter
    GA
    Per the developer's request.

    just thought I would clarify as to why.
     
  6. jdaa

    jdaa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I wasn't trying to acquire anything. My friend was just here with her X that was delivered on Monday. Since both of us being new to smart phones, and being from the older generation, we were showing each other what we had learned. She showed me this on her phone. Then she did a search on the Market Place, or somewhere on the phone as I wasn't paying too close attention, and found it. After she left I did a search and it was not there. I'm not trying to get anything in a round about way and no one should contact me with anything. It was simply an innocent question from an older person. Sorry
     
  7. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    no need to apologize, and no one was insinuating that you were trying to get it illegaly. they are just covering their butts.

    as far as swype goes, some people got it, some dont. haha.not having it sucks, believe me.
     
  8. Terabethia

    Terabethia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,071
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    1,071
    311
    163
    Northern Virginia
    Didn't the Droid X come preloaded with Swype?

    I could be wrong but I am pretty sure I read that somewhere...?
     
  9. Taylored

    Taylored Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    689
    60
    78
    IT Recruiter
    GA
    No problems with asking the question.
    There is a similar app which is available in the market, Slideit. There is a free version you can try out. I recommend trying it free first. I am not a fan of it, but some like it... "Slideit"
     
  10. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,299
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    1,299
    231
    143
    West Jordan, UT
    According to Steven58 it did come preloaded on his X.
     
  11. Terabethia

    Terabethia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,071
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    1,071
    311
    163
    Northern Virginia
    I did some searching and it looks like this is correct, the X came with it preloaded.

    Which explains why the OP's friend had it even though it's now in closed beta.
     
  12. Vaseline Smith

    Vaseline Smith Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    276
    49
    43
    Sooo I guess I am a lucky tester then got it when the beta first came out and still have it, I love it so much.
     
  13. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    280
    34
    43
    I've had nothing but problems with Swype on Froyo. I love swype though and hope they patch it soon.
     
  14. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    103
    1
    56
    Get SlideIT. I use it and its great :)
     
  15. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    372
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    372
    27
    43
    Materials Specialist
    Sunny California
    i got swype on my phone and its still open not a closed beta...
     
  16. najaboy

    najaboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    390
    68
    53
    Swype is a closed beta. It is unavailable for download unless you have already been invited to the closed beta.

    Swype | Text Input for Screens

    Swype | Text Input for Screens

     
  17. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    AND it has the microphone key that swype is missing!! :D
     
  18. CPT ROOSTER

    CPT ROOSTER Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    I am sure this may have already been posted but I thought I'd share. If you tap and hold on an input window on the Droid X, a window opens with the option "input method." If you click on that option, the DX offers Swype. I lust learned it's pre-loaded. There is a great tutorial. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...