1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Swype for rooters?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cableguynoe, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    Has anyone here that downloaded the official Swype Beta Trial had problems when switching roms?

    I just flashed a new rom, restored my apps, and Swype is telling me it's registered to another device.... :thinking::thinking: Wont work!!!!

    I'm wondering if I should just download the versions that are floating around out there instead of having an "official" version... :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,244
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,244
    23,430
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Cableguynoe, try doing a re-install. I had to install twice for some silly reason. Worked the second time around. I wasn't flashing a new ROM, but I got the same "registered to another device" message. Works fine now.

    Cheers!
     
  3. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    Thanks, that did work for me.
    But I'm wondering if I'm going to have to do this every time I switch roms?
     
  4. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    I've been having this problem as well. In fact I was just going to start a thread about it until I saw this. Same "Swype is registered to a different device BS." Lately I have only made it a few days without uninstall/reinstalling swype. I can't yet pinpoint what triggers it because it has done it to me even when I'm not switch ROMS frequently.

    EDIT: What makes it worse is that the words you added to the dictionary get deleted each time you reinstall!
     
  5. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    Using the official beta, you have to re-download and install every time you switch ROMs. It's because of the way the Swype Installer works: It creates a license file based on a bunch of info about your phone and software. When that info changes, the license is no longer valid.

    Do yourself a favor and use a hacked version instead. I can't tell you where to get it, but Google might be able to tell you where to get "hacked swype hvga" instead.
     
  6. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    Yup... that's the part I hate. I have all my user names and passwords added to make my life easy... along with a ton of other words, names, etc.
    So it sucks having to start all over again.
    I never even downloaded any of the themed swypes that were available before the swyp expiration justfor that reason. Did not want to start over.

    Thanks Nestor... I think I'll do that.
     
  7. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    Thanks for the advice. I'll opt for that instead of installing the damn beta each time I switch ROMS
     

Share This Page

Loading...