1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

SWYPE - Great keyboard or a resource hog? (or both)

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Left Coast DJ, Mar 26, 2011.

1. Left Coast DJ

Left Coast DJ Android Enthusiast
    None

Jan 24, 2011
    Southern California
    Being an Android noob, I'm trying to decide between my stock HTC Thunderbolt keyboard or switching to Skype. I like both keyboards. I'm leaning towards Swype. However, it's 12.43MB under my "Running Apps" list - making it by far the largest app I'm running. For those who are using Swype, is it good enough to be a keeper? For those who have tried Swype, but are now using another keyboard instead, what made you change from Swype?

Advertisement

2. Dan Williams

Dan Williams Lurker
    None

Oct 27, 2010
    NC
    Just a matter of personal preference, but I like SlideIt better than Swype. I did try Swype, but SlideIt is just a better feel for me.

3. mtsarpilot

mtsarpilot Member
    None

Feb 4, 2011
    I love swype. Took a couple days to get fast on it but once I got the hang of out and learned how it predicts it it's w ay faster than the regular keyboard.

4. Left Coast DJ

Left Coast DJ Android Enthusiast
    None

Jan 24, 2011
    Southern California
    I uninstalled the full version of Swype and installed only the English/Spanish version, which is a much smaller app. And now I'm really digging Swype.

5. Ngo93

Ngo93 Android Enthusiast
    None

Swype is worth keeping. But you can always change keyboards whenever you like, I know I'm always constantly changing my keyboards.

6. chrlswltrs

chrlswltrs Android Expert
    None

Nov 12, 2009
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    I love swype in portrait and the default keyboard in landscape. Swype is definitely worth it IMO. I use Keyboard Manager to automatically switch between the 2 keyboards when my orientation changes also.

7. captaincanada84

captaincanada84 Well-Known Member
    None

Feb 28, 2010