1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Swype Keyboard for Behold 2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mastermind278, Feb 7, 2010.

  1. Mastermind278

    Mastermind278 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Okay so there exists a new version that is only the English Language and removed the Tutorials. Brings down the install size on my BH2 to 3.08MB... a lot better.

    This version was edited by Tudsen on Xda-Developers... You can possibly find it by using google and searching "SwypeReference-HVGA-trial-release_eng.1.16.12.5228.219.apk" it will more than likely link to XDA-Developers and on post 136 on Page 14 of the thread, there should be a link (mediafire) to this version.:cool:
     

    Advertisement

    chadmd23 likes this.
  2. xblue95

    xblue95 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    81
    3
    16
    Im very impressed with swype, have been running it for a few days now. Very accurate! My version says it takes up 4.66MB?
     
  3. Bugdog

    Bugdog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    132
    6
    56
    Chicago
    Thanks Mastermind, love the improvements! Swype is genius.
     
  4. btbarr

    btbarr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    75
    7
    16
    Hey does anyone know if this version is time bombed? The older version that I had been using for about two weeks finally popped up with a message that said "Your trial period is now over."
     
  5. xblue95

    xblue95 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    81
    3
    16
    Ya, my came up "Trial Ended" today also. I was really enjoying swype, I didn't know it was trial ware. Guess I need to figure out how to pay for a copy?
     
  6. Bugdog

    Bugdog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    132
    6
    56
    Chicago
    You can try this: Swype | Text Input for Screens
     
    Mastermind278 likes this.
  7. paul89

    paul89 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    1,004
    84
    128
    Indiana, US
    swype is amazing, it even gets the correct word even if I don't think I swiped correctly!
     
  8. NowVoyager

    NowVoyager Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    696
    607
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Left Coast
    I *LOVE* IT!!!!!! - And I was a Shapewriter person. But this is so easy and well, perfect :)
     
  9. tritran18518

    tritran18518 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010

    Feb 20, 2010
    330
    32
    43
    how can you type "pocketnow.com" ^^
     
  10. SoulCreator

    SoulCreator Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    71
    4
    16
    I've always been a physical keyboard type guy, so when I got the BH2 I found the whole virtual keyboard thing was driving me freggin' nuts... Anyway I tried swype and I've got to admit it's an amazing piece of software, it *almost* makes me not miss a real keyboard it's that good.
     
  11. xblue95

    xblue95 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    81
    3
    16
    I one thing I found frustrating with Swype was how the "word prediction" feature covered up the actual text field. I couldn't see what I was typing, specially in messenger. Other than that, excellent!
     
  12. deathclutch

    deathclutch Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    125
    14
    38

    should just be... start at p and when you get to the period.. swype down to the period.. then c o m
     
  13. kkarlin

    kkarlin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    111
    20
    38
    My biggest issue is that as a LONG time blackberry user, the most comfortable (and fastest way for me to type is using both thumbs. I am just having trouble moving over to using a single finger.
     
  14. dctony2010

    dctony2010 Member
    Rank:
     #1,917
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    42
    0
    15
    Does Swype require hacking/rooting (sorry, new with all this) to install? I don't want to void the phone's warranty or bring it to a point where I can not reset the phone back to factory setting. Thanks
     
  15. kkarlin

    kkarlin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    111
    20
    38
    @dctony2010 - no rooting or hacking required - just follow the directions. It is still in Beta, but appears pretty stable to me.

    Kevin
     
  16. bangsters

    bangsters Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010

    Feb 20, 2010
    80
    1
    36
    this sux....i haven't downloaded it and beta is over :(
     
  17. Bugdog

    Bugdog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    132
    6
    56
    Chicago
    Is it still available in the leaked version, as it says in the OP?
     
  18. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    879
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    879
    69
    98
    have had swype for about a week now..

    simply amazing and accurate!

    though i cannot figure out how to add words.
     
  19. Bugdog

    Bugdog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    132
    6
    56
    Chicago
    Yeah, I love it - to add words, you can just type them in like on a regular keyboard. Once you space or hit a punctuation mark, it will add it to the dictionary.
     
  20. nomadrider123

    nomadrider123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    163
    8
    36
    MN
    I am getting faster with it too I just wished their was a stylus to use then I think I would be set. lol
     
  21. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,224
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,224
    84
    128
    Mine won't let me switch back to swype. It says trial period is over.
     
  22. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    You need to sign up at swype.com for the beta.is closed now but they will email you when its open again
     
  23. WurrzMiKey

    WurrzMiKey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    40
    5
    36
    oh dang it's closed now? i only got it a couple days ago. swype is amazing, i kind of feel excited everytime i get to use it haha
     
  24. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    530
    57
    78
    NYC
  25. Bugdog

    Bugdog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    132
    6
    56
    Chicago
    No surprise there - that's why we love it :D

    Question: the Swype instructions/tips say that to remove a word from the dictionary, you double tap to highlight it and then tap the swype key - when I double tap, nothing happens. Am I missing something, or am I an idiot, or is this a known issue? One of the few things that bugs me about swype is when it puts some random sequence of letters in there - I really need to be able to delete stuff from the dictionary. I've tried reinstalling the beta, and I still can't double tap on a word. Thanks in advance!
     

Share This Page

Loading...