1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Swype - Menu you didn't see

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TF1984, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. Caloy

    Caloy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,870
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,870
    200
    163
    Male
    Mad Scientist! MUAHAHAHA!
    Richmond, TX
    As promised. Thanks mate. Again nice post mate.... Cheers!
     

    Advertisement

    TF1984 likes this.
  2. TF1984

    TF1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    676
    277
    133
    International Trade
    Southeast US
    June Swype expiring soon. Maybe that's it, if you're a registered beta membet you can catch any update on the swype site. I am a member, I'll check and get back to you.
     
    BigHAZE likes this.
  3. TF1984

    TF1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    676
    277
    133
    International Trade
    Southeast US
    Slylust, yeah me neither. I have to tick on the word then hit the swype key to force word recognition.
     
  4. dsarch21

    dsarch21 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    119
    20
    38
    Architect
    New Jersey
    thanks! I was wondering if there were arrows to move the cursor precisely....
     
  5. BigHAZE

    BigHAZE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    194
    55
    53
    Thanks. I checked the beta page last night, but couldn't find anything. When I just checked this morning, I saw that there was a beta update. I grabbed it and it installed fine. I am working again with Swype. Appreciate it.
     
  6. atypical1

    atypical1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    43
    5
    16
    San Diego, ca
    Great tip. Thanks a million for this.
     
  7. TF1984

    TF1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    676
    277
    133
    International Trade
    Southeast US
    I checked just now and they are still only listing the Current (June) download. Where did you find an update?
     
  8. TF1984

    TF1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    676
    277
    133
    International Trade
    Southeast US
    Bumpity Bump Bump Bump.
     
  9. BigHAZE

    BigHAZE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    194
    55
    53
  10. TF1984

    TF1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    676
    277
    133
    International Trade
    Southeast US
    Thought I would give this a Bump since Evo now has Swype as a stock option.
     
    AlkiDweller and RhinoDoc like this.
  11. RhinoDoc

    RhinoDoc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009

    Oct 8, 2009
    88
    5
    16
    Wow, thanks for bumping. I have been using Swype for months now, knew I could get the alternate symbol layout but longpressing the sym button, but not the f/5 bit. I have dumped Swype a few times in favor of a keyboard that has directional arrows, but always gone back. I never knew about that trick. Makes it that much better!
     
  12. sharinlea

    sharinlea Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    35
    8
    16
    I just really wish they'd add double-space for period insert like most other keyboards out there. I know it's a matter of preference, but there's no reason we can't have both ways.
     
    jct1230 and jazzy921 like this.
  13. DaedalusxX

    DaedalusxX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    117
    13
    58
    IT Technician
    College in CT, From NY
    Awesome! Thanks for this, I've been missing the arrow keys since moving to Swype.
     
  14. Ecktore

    Ecktore Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    82
    19
    38
    Seriously, I wish i saw this thread much sooner. Not knowing about the arrow keys has been very frustrating.
     
  15. abutt

    abutt Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hey, I am trying to figure out how to spell check an SMS text message. You mention that you set speed to max and worry about typos later when you run a spell check. How, exactly, to you access a spell check function? The way you describe the process it doesn't sound like a pain in the ass at all. Please save me from my typo-hell... Thanks!
     
  16. TF1984

    TF1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    676
    277
    133
    International Trade
    Southeast US
    Sorry, re-read my post. At the end I do "My spell check". Unfortunately there's not a system check to run. I simply read over what I've typed.

    Any word that is incorrect, double-tap and Swype should offer alternative options. I find it's still quicker to go this was so you're not back and fourth swyping, reading, swyping, reading, correcting, reading, swyping, reading..


    On a side note, recommend you try SlideIT from the market. It is far superior to Swype IMHO.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...