1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General swype preloaded on new incredibles?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by plim, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. plim

    plim Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    98
    19
    18
    New Motorola DROID 2 Global details emerge | BGR

    according to a leaked document from verizon re: droid 2 global, it lists that the HTC Incredible has Swype built in.

    can anyone who purchased an incredible recently comment if swype is pre-loaded?

    or, can anyone comment if they've been hearing rumors that the incredible will start getting swype pre-loaded in the future...and if that's the case, if they will somehow distribute it to older incredible users?
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    I just bought my wife an Incredible 2 weeks ago and it did not have swype pre-loaded. But it's a definite possibility after swype comes out of beta.
     
  3. ttran97

    ttran97 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    572
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    572
    82
    78
    California
    I bought my Incredible last Friday (10/29) from Best Buy and it did not have swype pre-installed, either.
     
  4. AHanks12

    AHanks12 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    220
    12
    38
    Virginia
    just got an incredible for the wife 2 days ago........no swype
     
  5. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Ditto. I know Motorola purchased the rights to use swype from Samsung so I'm not surprised it's on the phones.
     
  6. Rodent

    Rodent Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    92
    5
    16
    Some lucky wives out there getting a great phone :D
     
  7. Puppa

    Puppa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    320
    93
    73
    Linux kernel development, Android & Chrome
    Raleigh, NC
    Hmm...I wonder if Swype is part of next week's update. You'd think they'd say something about it, though.
     
  8. AHanks12

    AHanks12 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    220
    12
    38
    Virginia
    Ha! I don't think we could be that lucky to get something pre-installed from the update that we actually want on our phone.
     
  9. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I'm a part of Swype Beta, rooted running Virtuous 3.0.1, my swype quit working not too long ago so I logged in and tried to re-download it. It told me my phone is NOT an Android phone. WTH!?!?
     
  10. AeolianReflex

    AeolianReflex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    436
    73
    63
    Male
    Southern California
    There is an update coming next week? How did I miss that !!!
     
  11. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    When you're flashing you have to remember to uncheck "Install iOs 4?"
     
    jasoraso likes this.
  12. GlueChickeN

    GlueChickeN Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    Bought mine yesterday, 11/4/10,... no swype
     
  13. Puppa

    Puppa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    320
    93
    73
    Linux kernel development, Android & Chrome
    Raleigh, NC
    Looks to me like the source of the chart referenced that indicated that the Incredible had Swype was Motorola, not Verizon. Probably a mistake. Drat!
     
  14. JayCizzo

    JayCizzo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    65
    7
    16
    Tampa, FL
    Before clicking the download link make sure you go into your browser settings and check the box to allow mobile sites. It should work after that.
     
    Old Member likes this.
  15. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    Hey Cincy, what browser are you using and what is it set to in terms of viewing size? I've had my browser in "Overview mode" and also "Fullscreen mode" and seen the same thing happen.
     
  16. mobile1

    mobile1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    61
    2
    16
    I received a new phone today and no Swype.
     

Share This Page

Loading...