1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Swype with ICS

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Aries859, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. Aries859

    Aries859 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    63
    5
    16
    Northern, Ky
    Ok, my phone just got the ICS update and most things seem to be good, however Swype is not working properly. Everytime the phone boots up a error appears that says Swype has stopped. However, if I try to send a text, the Swype box does appear, but it only covers about 2/3's of the width of the screen across the bottom. I went into the Swype options and don't see where I can download an updated version.

    Does anyone have any thoughts on how to fix?
     

    Advertisement

  2. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #89
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,042
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    1,042
    331
    173
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    Swype? Must be an aftermarket app, the Rezound doesn't have that natively unless you mean Touch Input Trace Mode (Like Swype, kind of), that works fine, perhaps uninstall your Keyboard and reinstall from the Play Store?
     
  3. ludist210

    ludist210 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    396
    41
    43
    Male
    Grad School Student
    Birmingham, Alabama
    What version of Swype are you running? Mine works just fine post-update...
     
  4. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,973
    Posts:
    23,581
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,581
    11,318
    1,973
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    never hurts to uninstall, then re-install
     
  5. nynvolt

    nynvolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    368
    65
    53
    SoCal
    Swipe has worked great just as before for me, I'm guessing you need to update yours. It definitely functions perfectly with ICS. Good luck, hard to go back once you've become accustomed to swype.
     
  6. Aries859

    Aries859 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    63
    5
    16
    Northern, Ky
    I am running version3.26.92D.39062.t0.10976.

    How do I update, if the update option isn't there in options menu?
     
  7. HenryKrinkle

    HenryKrinkle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    138
    30
    43
    I think if you run the Swype Installer (a stand-alone app; should be in your app drawer) it will check if you have the most current version.
     
    Aries859 likes this.
  8. nynvolt

    nynvolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    368
    65
    53
    SoCal
    What he said, when you install it says searching for updates. Just reinstall it and you should be fine.
     
    Aries859 likes this.
  9. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    In my version of Swype the update option is in Settings. Long press the Swype key. If you are on the latest version there will be no update option at the bottom of Settings.
     
  10. Aries859

    Aries859 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    63
    5
    16
    Northern, Ky
    Thanks for all the info. A few days ago I was cleaning up my phone and actually deleted the installer...figured I was done with it. So I just uninstalled swype from the phone and reloaded the beta. Looks like all is well and working.

    Thanks again everyone.
     
  11. gidget

    gidget Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    250
    37
    43
    takoma park, md
    mine was doing the same thing, my swype would show only like 2/3 of the screen, tiny at the bottom. the swype installer i had on my phone did not update correctly, so i just removed it all, then re-downloaded the installer from the swype beta site. that did the trick, and now swype is shiny and new, and better than before! love it.
     
  12. TrooperThorn

    TrooperThorn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    87
    49
    23
    I've got Swype 1.0.3.5809, and everything works wonderfully except for the speech-to-text. It worked great before on GB, but now it doesn't work at all. Anybody else experience this? Or know a way to resolve?

    I've already factory reset my phone and re-downloaded Swype.
     
  13. dzuchowski

    dzuchowski Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    63
    3
    16
    The standard HTC white keyboard has an option under settings for race that will enable Swype like features. That is until Apple sues them for it...
     
  14. TheMortallyWounded

    TheMortallyWounded Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    276
    51
    73
    PTS Manufacturing Technologist, Ithaco Space Syste
    Spencer, New York
    Personally, I've never really seen the usefulness of it, either Swype or the HTC built-in version. Perhaps ii never gave it a chance. Let me try it here.
    Click JFK oh jog seedsguru sh techno Judith Kruse Hyundai habit uhh Lessig itch offset exhibit huge outfit drug ish Hendry kosher jobs high Hugh Hagee UFO oddity juice within njhf bebop identify youngest humdrum isn't she HGH handheld downturn Mandy driving info can I'd King's shy big FBI legacy in the biggest myths Justin snobby Koch laugh graph higher sign lighthouse laugh lug shed HBO itch hitch quick anchor offing TCP handgun Lucy King's Churchill often looking JFK ISBN OUGHT BUT RGBFUNDING IFFY JIGGLEHDTVdick LGBT crunch linux inch Kyushu inch off which JFK
    I think they should rename it "tourette keyboard."
     
  15. PNWViking

    PNWViking Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012

    Jul 4, 2012
    43
    7
    16
    I have Swiftkey3 and it works just great ;)
     
  16. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #89
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,042
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    1,042
    331
    173
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    LMAO! That's awesome!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...