1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Swype?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Snow_Fox, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,498
    131
    163
    does this phone swype?
     

    Advertisement

  2. neonam

    neonam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    5
    2
    6
    I have not found anything that uses the swype input that is supposed to be supported by that phone.
     
  3. stardroid

    stardroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010

    Dec 22, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    UK
    I registered and downloaded the Swype beta on the U8150 and tried to install but it said something about the screen size not being big enough and it wouldn't install. Shame.
     
  4. sagarkumar91

    sagarkumar91 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010

    Dec 22, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Can you please tell whether it was about screen size or processor power? And can you tell whether galaxy 5 has swype?
     
  5. thel8elvis

    thel8elvis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010

    Dec 22, 2010
    54
    10
    18
    usa
    Swype does not officially support this resolution (QVGA) in their beta - they appear to work mostly through the carriers/manufacturers to support swype.

    The tmobile comet (which is the u8150) comes with swype, though, and I have read in other forums that people have swype running on this phone.
     
  6. stardroid

    stardroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010

    Dec 22, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    UK
    Any idea how?
     
  7. thel8elvis

    thel8elvis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010

    Dec 22, 2010
    54
    10
    18
    usa
    The XDA forums have some info on QVGA swype.

    Again, I think the swype developers are trying to keep some control over swype so it doesn't look like crap, as it integrates so closely into using the phone.
     
  8. Trekker

    Trekker Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010

    Dec 23, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Download Swype from here, it will work on U8150.

    http://www.mediafire.com/u8150

    Although I personally like ShapeWriter a much better keyboard than Swype
     
  9. saadzr

    saadzr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    there is not application that supports swype in android market.


    second i also can not find ShapeWriter in android market.

    Can you plz help how to get anyone 1 of it?

    Your response will be highly appreciated.
     
  10. cooool_man84

    cooool_man84 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Dear Seniors, what is swype?
     
  11. thel8elvis

    thel8elvis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010

    Dec 22, 2010
    54
    10
    18
    usa
    swype
     
  12. nba1341

    nba1341 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    4
    1
    6
    My phone came with swype....
     
  13. vandy

    vandy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    ThatGuyJames likes this.
  14. ThatGuyJames

    ThatGuyJames Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    5
    2
    6
    Yea works all good thanks :)
     
  15. phonepaul

    phonepaul Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    8
    3
    6
    Southeast U.S.
    All the applications that use text input of any kind should support swype (or, rather, swype should support them). You need to set your text input method to swype before it works if you added swype to the phone after you got it. This is what I have to do with my Nexus One. On my Comet, swype is pre-installed and set as the default.
     
  16. fomofo

    fomofo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Australia
    Thanks Trekker, that did the trick, although I had to freeze the stock keyboard with Titanium first.
     
    Trekker likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...