1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Swype

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thinkblue, May 22, 2011.

  1. thinkblue

    thinkblue Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    human being
    Los Angeles
    I hate to ask a question that's been asked thousands of times but I figure asking the community is my best choice so please forgive me. I've tried searching the forums as well as the world wide webz but I can't seem to find a stable, working version of the latest swype apk. I'm looking for the newest one that finally fixed the annoying "hidden word" popup. Please, if anyone can help me or steer me in the right direction, I would really appreciate it. :)

    Unfortunately, I have yet to receive the silent update that allows me to install non-market apps otherwise I could do it the legit way through the swype beta. My patience has run dry. :(

    Thanks again!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Canio Wolf

    Canio Wolf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    Cricket employee
    Texas
    There's a way to install non market apps without rooting or having sideloading enabled, it's over at xda. I've never tried it so I don't know exactly what you need to do but I've heard it's got a lot of positive feedback
     
  3. spoiler61

    spoiler61 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    46
    2
    16
    Washington
    Go to settings, apps then check unkowen sources, u should have it..i just downloaded it off of swypes web page..
     
  4. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    There are still people who have not gotten the update yet. It seems to be random as to who gets it and when so just because you have it doesn't mean everyone does. I got mine one day and my husband the next day and my cousin still doesn't have it.
     
  5. th3goob

    th3goob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    185
    13
    38
    Nanty Glo, PA
    download the android sdk, then shift right click in the android sdk tools folder, and then type adb devices
    it should start the daemon
    after that type adb install (app name here)
    (make sure the app is in the directory of the tools folder for it to work) or just type out the full directory of where the app is installed, and enojoy
     
  6. StandingCow

    StandingCow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    91
    8
    36
    Does swype stop working randomly for anyone else? I had to reinstall it just now.
     
  7. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    I haven't had that problem since mid to late march, I had to reinstall swype and it has been working since
     
  8. Canio Wolf

    Canio Wolf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    Cricket employee
    Texas
    I have swype but whenever I mess up a word and I double click it to change it then the HTC "COPY, CUT, PASTE" options always appear and block the list of words that swype gives. Is there anyway to take that off or anything? Sometimes it's very annoying :(
     
  9. buckyandroid

    buckyandroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    you can use slideit as an alternative
     
    Canio Wolf likes this.
  10. Canio Wolf

    Canio Wolf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    Cricket employee
    Texas
    Yeah I tried it. It feels REALLY weird but I guess I'll have to suck it up since regular swype is becoming a hassle :(
     
  11. Lincoln4

    Lincoln4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    Male
    Washington
    Weird. Mine just quit today. I'll have to try uninstalling & reinstalling.
     
  12. albs96

    albs96 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi

    I was able to download swype for htc desire and switched keyboard from input to swipe. When I go to start and type...swype keyboard appears and when I do the swyping...path appears. After completing the swpe motions of one board...boarder perimeter of the keyboard blinks but no word appears.

    Need help on identifying what I need to do. Predictive is on as well.
     
  13. AvengerBB

    AvengerBB Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    72
    8
    16
    I have had that sometimes... change your keyboard to standard, then back to swype.
     
  14. iron mongoose

    iron mongoose Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    OK i'll ask, what is swype and why do i want it im a newbie and have no idea whAT IT IS THANX ---TOM ps sorry for capp did not realize i hit caps lock:cool:
     
  15. StandingCow

    StandingCow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    91
    8
    36
    It allows you to just run your finger across the keys to spell a word instead of tapping them, so it is a bit quicker. It takes a little getting used to.
     
  16. RB215

    RB215 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    33
    0
    15
    Philly
    where can i purchase this specific app called swype from? i searched it in amazon appstore but the apps that appear are under different names. :thinking:
     
  17. RigelX

    RigelX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    129
    19
    38
    Alabama
    If you have the update that allows you to install non-market apps, you can get it from Swype | Text Input for Screens (dunno why the link isn't underlined, but it's definitely a link)from there, you can sign up for the beta, and they'll email a link to download and install it.
    It takes some getting-used-to.
    I've had it installed for about a week. I'm not entirely sure I'll keep using it, but it's getting easier.
     
    RB215 likes this.
  18. RB215

    RB215 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    33
    0
    15
    Philly
    ok thanks:cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...