1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sync, Contacts..need help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Puddin422, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    At some point in time, I told my phone to sync Facebook. I like how it puts my contacts' facebook profile picture as their contact pic on my phone....but....

    Now, when I start typing a name in SMS apps, or start typing a phone number in the dialee, I'm seeing facebook friends who are NOT in my contacts. How do I get rid of them?? Is there a way to tell my phone to ONLY sync my actual contacts and not every single person on my friends list? They dont show up in my contacts, just auto suggests them in SMS and phone dialer..
     

    Advertisement

  2. elric999uk

    elric999uk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    26
    2
    16
    Male
    IT manager
    UK
    try going into the people applet and hit the menu key and choose view. hopefully you'll be anle to select which contact lists you wish to use.

    I'm using a desire Z and it's my first andriod phone so i'm not sure if this is a stock featire of the OS.

    Hope it helps
     
  3. KENNECTED

    KENNECTED Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Sign out of Facebook for HTC/Friendstream, if you do not want your contacts in gmail and facebook integrated.

    Then download the regular facebook app and use that.

    If you need more information search YOUR PHONES particular forum and search facebook.
     
  4. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Im not talking gmail. Im talking about my phone's contacts list. I dont sync to gmail.
     
  5. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    There is no " view" option in the menu of my contacts list. And I dont see the facebook contacts there anyway. Only in SMS and phone dialer when I start to type a name or a phone number.
     
  6. apiapi

    apiapi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    3
    1
    6
    Malaysia
    I hope your device is on Ginger Bread. Go to people|menu|view, uncheck "Facebook". Hope it works for you.
     
  7. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Not on GB.
     
  8. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    not sure if this will do it, but from the stock contacts app, select menu-more-display options. you can then choose what type of contacts to display. maybe the search function will also use that as part of it's logic.
     
  9. ZiggSVO

    ZiggSVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    215
    49
    43
    In the words of Montel...
    Thiiiiiisssssss is hoooowww weeeeeee doooo it...

    ^^This is how to do it. It should work for you.
     
  10. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    I'm not having a problem with viewing too many contacts when I'm IN THE CONTACTS APP. They are already hidden there. It's any time the phone auto-suggests, like when you start typing a name to send a text to, or when you start entering a phone number to call. I've had to remove facebook syncing entirely to prevent this.
     
    TiffanyDyme likes this.
  11. ZiggSVO

    ZiggSVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    215
    49
    43

    So after you remove all your contacts, and you resetup fb, what happens when you check the box sync only existing? It shouldnt import them all?
     
  12. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Remove all my contacts? Why would I do that? I'm not following you. Deleting the Facebook sync account removes all of my facebook friends, all 2600 of them, from (hidden inside of) my contacts. Even when they are HIDDEN, if I export to SD card, and then wipe my contacts, and start all over, and import that file, all those 2600 people are still there, but hidden. (so I have to wait for it to load all 2600 files as well).

    When I tell it to "sync only existing" all it does is sync photos, status, etc of ONLY existing. It still inserts every damn facebook person. They are just hidden until I am in an SMS app or the phone dialer.
     
  13. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    too bad, sounds like the search needs filtering options.
     
  14. ZiggSVO

    ZiggSVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    215
    49
    43
    Have you tried doing all that...without import your contacts?
    Like try starting fresh and just adding a few people that you want and know have facebook, then after you add those 2 people, do facebook thing but only have it sync existing. See if that works?
    If not then I'll have to think about it more later?
    But if you have them saved to your sd card no big deal about deleting them all and trying this :)
     
  15. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Yes, I have. What I am saying is that syncing existing still adds all those people to some hidden area, where they only show up in those two scenarios.

    Once I removed facebook account in Sync, I only had 206 contacts when I imported to SD. My point in that is that importing/exporting SHOWS YOU how many contacts there are. I have 206 "real" contacts, and 2600 facebook friends. So it's pretty clear to me when I import/export whether I've successfully removed the excess or not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...