• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Sync Contacts with Outlook 2010

as far as i know it is not possible, but i am not an expert. you have to set up a gmail account. on the gmail page there are instructions. i use OL 2007, so i don't know the exact steps, but i exported to a file, chose CSV windows, then the folder. one thing i learned, and so far have not liked, is that the synch process with gmail combines like name accounts. i had a joe smith and a joey smith, and it took one number from one and added it to the other. ultimately i found it was still there but linked together, and there is a way to separate them in the phone contact list. it is not a synch. it is an export, so you add a contact to the phone, it is not in outlook. the calender will add after the time you set up when setting up your google calender. mine is 10 minutes. i think you might be able to e mail the new contact to yourself to add it to outlook. i just tried to give you the steps and realized i cant use the third party email i added recently to do it. the system wants to use the standard e mail client, so i have to play around with that.

Upvote 0
One of the people that work here bought a new Vortex phone with Android and would like me to see if I can sync his Contacts in Outlook 2010 onto his phone. Since I don't have an Android phone, I thought I would ask here. Thanks .

There are a number of options available for syncing Outlook to Android phones. SyncDroid.net is a great resource for exploring your options. Most of the options listed there are able to sync contacts.

If your coworker is interested in syncing more from Outlook (Contacts, Calendars, Tasks, Notes, etc) I'd suggest they take a look at CompanionLink for Outlook & DejaOffice for Android. Using the two apps in conjunctions they'll be able to keep everything synced up nicely. If they have any questions about it, let me know!

- David Z.

Upvote 0