• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Sync to Outlook is such a hassle!

jrb2969

Lurker
May 16, 2010
I am not a newbie at Outlook, Android or smartphones. Given the frustration level, I had to lean on Companionlink to get the product working in a letter.

Wayland and fellow professionals,

I have been a client of your since 2004 and in IT/high tech for 30 years. While it is clear that you are market leaders with an opportunity to sell in an inexplicable vacuum Android

I think Jeff's letter should be directed at Google. It's maddening that Google refuses to write an app that syncs Outlook contacts with Android. Of course Google has no intention of doing that because they want Google Apps to replace Microsoft Office, and they want to force you to put your valuable contacts database on Google's servers.

Because Google, Samsung, Sprint and Microsoft are essentially absentee players in the business of sync,

Microsoft has two good solutions for sync on Android. For corporate users, Exchange Servers are an excellent, albeit pricey solution. For those without access to Exchange Servers, Outlook contacts and calendar can be automatically synchronized to Android, for free, without any 3rd party apps, from anywhere in the world, through Hotmail servers-- and you don't even have to use Hotmail for email. (That's what I do. Works great.)

Upvote 0
I don't know if this helps, but I just moved all my contacts from 3 different accounts (including an Outlook account with tight security) by simply exporting them to My Documents and then importing the files to gmail. All 700+ are now on my phone and backed-up at gmail.com. Only a few needed tweaking/merging (the actual number was 18 total). It was almost too easy....felt like I was doing it wrong, but so far all seem to have synched with no data loss.

Upvote 0