1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General System firmware update 3/13

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by s_special, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    536
    54
    98
    socal
    What's new? Currently receiving update....
     

    Advertisement

  2. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    536
    54
    98
    socal
    Just hoping for the bugs to be fixed of course. Typing seems more snappy already
     
  3. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    536
    54
    98
    socal
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    Hopefully it sorts the reboot issues. I still can't use my gamepad though.
     
  5. kcarter3

    kcarter3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012

    Feb 2, 2012
    29
    5
    16
    lil nervous because i had none of the problems others were having. i saw update this morning and hit it be for i noticed what it was. thought it was a regular app. i was half sleep. hope i dont get problems now. my chrome stopped working and went all black. turned off then back on and its fine. will see what others say.
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    I had the same issue with Chrome on the first release of ICS, I'd put it down to Chrome as opposed to ICS though. As it's still in beta, I imagine it's pretty buggy.
     
  7. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    Fixed the panorama camera!!
     
  8. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    My GPS isn't working now, but it is better than it was
     
  9. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    Well... I just got a reboot. I had been listening to Pandora for a few hours. Turned it off and about 30 mins later it did it.
     
  10. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    The XDA forum says it fixes the camera and battery tracking in the Settings, but "random reboot" (RR) is still ours to love and cherish.
     
  11. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    That's what it seems. May have to give it some time to "settle down".. Lol
     
  12. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    Bummer. I was hoping it fixes the RR problem.
     
  13. Barbara

    Barbara Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    840
    31
    88
    I just want to take a moment to thank ALL of you! I would not have known that there was an update if I had not checked in here. I had to go to my "About", "Updates" to find that it was available. I LOVE this place!!!
     
  14. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    Reboot #7 (That I have seen) yay Asus. You didn't fix the biggest problem that was making the tab useless.
     
  15. chimphappyhour

    chimphappyhour Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    545
    87
    78
    KCMO
    Bummer! This was a bit unsettling when I had a random shut-off and reboot right after I got on a plane to go visit a client. Of course, it would have to be the first visit where I had decided to give a try to taking only the TF instead of my laptop. Traveling ultralight was great. Not knowing if I would be able to trust the TF, definitely not great. (I even went so far as making sure I knew where the closest Best Buy was just in case I had to run out and pick up a laptop! That's how nervous I was about the TF.) :mad:
     
  16. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,263
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,263
    40,028
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Had my first random reboot since the update. Obviously not fixed.
     
  17. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    536
    54
    98
    socal
    Asus doesn't even acknowledge that there is a issue. How is it possible??
     
  18. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,263
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,263
    40,028
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    It depends who you talk to. They know.
     
  19. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    Yup, GPS is definitely not working on mine.
     
  20. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,680
    886
    313
    Jacksonville, Fl
    When this updated started to roll out I was kind of bummed because mine is rooted and therefore off the upgrade path. I considered unrooting just so that I could catch this update. After hearing all of this, I think I'll stay on the ICS stock ROM that it's running, it's not giving me near the problems that you folks are reporting (I don't know why that would be, supposedly this ROM is exactly the same as the ICS update that Asus originally pushed).
     
  21. KeithW

    KeithW Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    I wasn't having the random reboot problem before the update and am
    not having after, either. Also, no issues with the GPS that I can detect,
    although I don't use it for anything. If I turn it on, it can see a sat or two
    inside the house; haven't had it outside.

    I was having the battery drain issue and will check on that as time goes
    by.

    So far, the update has had no negative impact and I'm not seeing anything
    that's improved, either; seems the same as before...
     
  22. ams30gts

    ams30gts Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    98
    12
    18
    Owner, Allied Armory
    Montebello, CA
    I didn't have any issues prior to the update that I knew of. Doing the update right now though.
     
  23. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    Would be helpful to be able to compare your good one with one that is having issues...such as installed apps, etc
     
  24. Nucco

    Nucco Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    66
    6
    36
    Electrical Engineer
    I haven't been experiencing the random reboots (knock on wood). Just installed the update (was without Wi-fi yesterday) and things seem alright. However, I went to get on the Transformer last night before bed, and it was shut off, or so I thought. It seemed to have locked up and wouldn't awake from sleep and had to do a hard reboot. Seems alright now, but that's the first issue or problem I've seen with this guy since I got it back in November.
     
  25. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    ^^^That is the typical scenario. Welcome to the club
     

Share This Page

Loading...