1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root System Update Fails (Help) - Should be s-on already

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Landis, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. Landis

    Landis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Ok, I am a little rusty since I did root about a year ago. But, about 6 months later I needed service so I put the phone back to stock, and do rememeber that I placed the phone back to S-on. Anyway, fast forward to today. I have been using the phone fine since, but I have never been able to install system updates. The phone will download the update OTA or WIFI, and then when I choose to install it, the phone reboots and has the Android logo and the status bar. About 1/5th of the way into the update status the update fails, shows the esclamation mark, and is in a frozen state until I take out the battery and reboot.

    Any idea on next steps of what to check? I would like to just update to the latest. I am still on V2.2.

    Thanks for any troubleshooting ideas.
     

    Advertisement

  2. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Are looking to root again or are you just trying to troubleshoot your update issue?
     
  3. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    So you put S-ON, but do you have the stock recovery?

    And double check that you have S-on by going to hboot.
     
  4. Landis

    Landis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    First I just want to troubleshoot my update issues. Preferably without deleting everything such as apps and settings. Later on I might have want to root. But for now I am fine without it.
     
  5. Landis

    Landis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    HBOOT indicates S-ON
     
  6. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    You might have not fully unrooted in the past and still have a custom recovery or a broken one. That's why rooted phone's cannot accept an OTA, our recovery will not allow it.

    What happens when you go to recovery? You may need to push a stock RUU onto your Evo and that may fix your update issues.
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well if you have s-on and a stock recovery (red triangle) and you cannot get updated, i woul dtake the phone in and ask the sprint people to help you get updated. you may need to do a factory reset which will erase any data you have saved up. so make sure you have used something like mybackup pro.
     
  8. Landis

    Landis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I have the Clockwork Mod recovery. What should I do when Recovery is loaded? I have been trying to update from OTA. It downloads the file fine, and then as I said it reboots and fails. Should I be loading that file in the recovery utility? Please expand on that. Thanks
     
  9. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    You need to find a stock RUU that matches your H-boot version. Then install that and you should be able to update.

    Edit: go to xda and it should be easy to find
     
  10. Landis

    Landis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Doesn't this mean I have to root the phone again to install ROMs? I did a reset and S-On is active.

    Never istalled a ROM before, kind of confuse, which RUU? to install.
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    a ruu (rom utility upgrade) is one way your evo can get updates, but in this case it can be used to install a stock rom and stock recovery. it does not need to be rooted to perform it. what is your hboot?
     
  12. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    Your h-boot should have a version number (mine is 2.10) just find the RUU that says it matches that version number and install it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...