1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support System Update-Installation Aborted?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by themoose, Mar 30, 2011.

1. themoose

themoose Lurker
    None

Mar 30, 2011
    Hi all,

Brand new to the android platform and enjoy it very much! However, when I try to install the latest update (4.1.57) it always seems to fail. After I download it and install, the phone reboots to a screen with an exclamation mark inside a triangle with the little android guy.

I leave it there thinking it's installing but I don't see a progress bar or anything, so I just reboot the phone. I'm sure it's worth noting, I rooted the phone with adeo, but since then I've done a factory reset and I still get this screen. Other than the update not installing the atrix works great! Could any seasoned android users explain if I am not doing something properly? Like I said, I'm new to the android platform so I'm still getting acclimated to it.

Thanks!

Advertisement

2. GreenishApples

None

Nov 25, 2010
    I'm having the same problem, though I haven't rooted my phone. I did however enable webtop mode over hdmi through this hack. Is this the reason? I've tried installing the update a few times already and I always get the error image.

3. razholio

razholio Well-Known Member
    None

Jul 25, 2010
    if you've done any mod other than root, consider youself luck you don't have a brick after update. The current recommendation is to back-out all mods before applying the update, with the exception of root which will require a little script-running to *preserve* root, but if you don't mind losing root, there's no extra worry.

4. GreenishApples

None

Nov 25, 2010
    So would a factory reset work to get rid of the webtop mod? Or do I have to root my phone and then undo the mod like it says in the mod instructions?

5. ThickG

ThickG Member
    None

Feb 8, 2011