1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root System update on rooted bionic

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ChiefIlliniwek5, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. ChiefIlliniwek5

    ChiefIlliniwek5 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    99
    14
    18
    Now that we.have word that a custom recovery is on its way, I have a question for the development world. when moto releases the first update to patch some of the known bugs, will it be possible for developers to create a stock rooted ROM that includes those bug fixes without losing root capability?
     

    Advertisement

    krouget likes this.
  2. p8ntballah21

    p8ntballah21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    263
    59
    53
    I am not a dev, but I have some prior experience with situations like this. When the xoom came out I rooted right away, when updates came out we were told on XDA to not update in fear of loosing root. I think what happens is the devs will take the update, keep all the good stuff, take out anything that could cause you to loose root, then upload the update.

    This is what they did with the xoom when it updated to 3.1 and 3.2, I never lost root through the entire process.

    So if you get an update notification, do not accept it.
     
  3. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    p8ntballah21 is correct. Soon after any official OTA, devs will release an update that applies any good stuff. Or, we might just be able to just accept the OTA, then re-root.
     
  4. keegan1014

    keegan1014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    431
    72
    73
    Normally you would take the update from a developer that USA pre rooted, then the update prompt goes away.
     
  5. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    On the OG Droid when you rooted it blocked all OTA updates so there was no fear of losing root. I know it was different for other phones.
     
  6. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Rooting does not block OTA updates. It's the things you do after like bloat removal or rom flashing that do.

    If you take an OTA when only rooted that is a full system OTA, you will lose root. If it is a patch, you usually don't lose root because the system partition is not wiped.
     
  7. ddemlong

    ddemlong Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    110
    8
    36
    I would simply accept the OTA update, using Petes root tool its a one click root. re-rooting is simply not that big of an issue as say with the droid charge having to flash ROMs through Odin.
     
  8. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    An OTA could potentially block the current root method and you would not be able to re-root.
     
  9. Member113588

    Member113588 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I wouldn't take an OTA update, Back in november we took them on the Incredible and lost root AND they added security so I had to wait about a week to re-root.
     
  10. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,120
    1,413
    District of Columbia
  11. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    In the past it has simply been a matter of changing the build props via root explorer to reflect the latest update even though the phone has not been updated. We'll have to wait for the official name of the new update and then change the name in the build props to see if it works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...