1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

System Update?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jacques Wegier, Sep 27, 2020.

1. Jacques Wegier

Hello, I got my new Pixel 4a two days ago. This is my first Android smartphone and I am still learning the way Android does things and unlearning the iOS way.

It is only by pure chance that while browsing the different settings, I got to > System > Advanced and there at the very bottom of the Advanced screen, it surprised me to see the last item is System Update > System Update available (Android 11)

Before getting deep down into the settings, I did not see any sign that a system update was available. Nothing visible on the System icon on my home screen to make me aware that something new is available for the system.

Did I miss something? I am still on Android 10 and before I update to 11; can somebody tell me where is and how looks the hint about an available update, so when a future update is available, I will be better aware.

Thank you very much.

2. ocnbrze

ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!

i do not have your phone, but there should be a toggle to turn on or off automatic updates. on my note 10+ i have that option under settings>system update>automatic updates. in your settings do a search for automatic updates and see what pops up.

3. Hadron

Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member

With a Pixel you may as well just check for an update on the first Tuesday of each month, because that's when you'll get them.

I can't remember what update notifications look like because I always check manually before the system gets round to telling me. At some point it will pop up a notification, but I can't remember the last time I left it long enough to do that. It's possible that checking the menu yourself triggered it to check for the update, which is why you hadn't seen a notification about it.

codesplice, ocnbrze and lunatic59 like this.
  4. lunatic59

lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum