1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support System Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by oooops, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. oooops

    oooops Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Has anyone seen the new software update? I'm at 2.3.6 and have a message about a system update_SCH-S720C-FB07ToLI02_12SEPT2012. If I install this will I lose root? Which version of android is this?
    Thanks,
    OOOOPS!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ThatonedudexP

    ThatonedudexP Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    133
    22
    58
    Male
    Pre-service elementary teacher
    Tennessee, United States
    Welcome to the one and only androidforums! :) I specifically logged on to start a thread about this haha. Anyways, I woke up today with the update you mentioned. I've had my lil Proclaim since early June and this has been the first update I ever received. It said it was only 20mb so I downloaded. When you download your phone should turn off, turn partially the way on, show a downloading icon and bar, turn off, turn back on (which will take longer than usual) and presto.

    My firmware number is still 2.3.6 but some letters/numbers were added to my build #, kernal version, baseband version and, unless I'm mistaken, hardware version. So yeah.. if anyone knows what, if anything, physically changed on the phone, please let us know! :)

    Btw.. is this update is from September... why did us Straight Talkers get it 5 months later? lol
     
  3. stonedray

    stonedray Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    33
    3
    16
    TN
    guy i work with updated his today and now foxfi wont let him hotspot. so i gotta root it for him tommorow
     
  4. ThatonedudexP

    ThatonedudexP Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    133
    22
    58
    Male
    Pre-service elementary teacher
    Tennessee, United States
    No, not Foxfi!!! D: Does he have the new version of Foxfi (from the update that gave everyone a 30 minute limit unless they paid) or the old one (where you have unlimited time)?

    Update: I just pulled up Foxfi (I have the old version from like November), and it said my phone was no longer supported... So I took the plunge and updated. Now I didn't get the message, but it says it's starting up... then immediately turns off. Guess I'll be forking out $8 now for the full version. That better work lol.

    Another update: Keep an eye on this thread: http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php/1788326-Galaxy-Proclaim-update
    No one really told what the update was about, but hopefully someone will. It was pretty much the only other forum or anything I could find that mentions the update we received. Apparently Straight Talk has been sending out this update over a month now. Guess we're late. haha
     
  5. Screaminxl

    Screaminxl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013

    Feb 18, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    I have had FoxFi unlocked for 2 months and today I installed the android update. Big Mistake! FoxFi no longer works.

    Is there any way to go back?
     
  6. ThatonedudexP

    ThatonedudexP Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    133
    22
    58
    Male
    Pre-service elementary teacher
    Tennessee, United States
    Welcome to AndroidForums, Screaminxl! If you mean go back to the previous phone version or whatever it's called, then I don't think so. There's probably a way, but it most likely requires root. :(
     
    Screaminxl likes this.
  7. DarkJedi

    DarkJedi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    323
    98
    63
    It appears the new update is specifically targeted at stopping FoxFi. It has both a new modem firmware and yanks out some segments of the kernel relating to hotspotting.

    No way to go back.

    Only option once "upgraded" is to root your phone to install one of the other hotspot apps. So far, it doesn't seem like the ability to root your phone has been impacted.
     
    ThatonedudexP and Screaminxl like this.
  8. Screaminxl

    Screaminxl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013

    Feb 18, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    The phone isn't expensive so.........New phone it is!

    Thanks
     
  9. Screaminxl

    Screaminxl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013

    Feb 18, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    How can I keep my other Galaxy Proclaim from updating other than just saying no everytime the update message appears?
     
  10. DarkJedi

    DarkJedi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    323
    98
    63
    If you root your phone, there is a config file (don't recall off top of my head where it is) you can change that fools it into thinking you already have the update installed.

    But since you are asking, you probably are looking for a way to do it without rooting. I don't think there is a way to stop it from prompting you on a non-rooted phone.

    Personally, I went ahead and let mine update. I'm non-rooted. I have faith that an eventual work-around will be found. Meanwhile, FoxFi still works via USB and Bluetooth... just not WiFi. Maybe find a USB to WiFi bridging device... that'd be cool.
     
    george357 likes this.
  11. ThatonedudexP

    ThatonedudexP Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    133
    22
    58
    Male
    Pre-service elementary teacher
    Tennessee, United States
    Thanks so much, Jedi! I can't believe ST sent out an update just to get rid of Foxfi/ hotspotting. :( I'm not rooting so I guess I'll wait until I can get a phone upgrade. I wonder if ST sent out this update to ALL of their hotspot enabled phones?? :O Do you know if anything else on the phone changed?

    By the way, whenever you select the "select word" or "select all" option when copying and pasting, the words are now highlighted in blue instead of orange. You're welcome. lololol
     
  12. george357

    george357 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013

    Feb 21, 2013
    14
    1
    36
    Male
    Disability (currently)
    Weaverville, NC
    I have a rooted Proclaim and wonder if the update messes with the root. I do not use FoxFi so if that is the only know issue I was going to apply the update but not at the expense of losing root. I read through this thread twice and never saw any reference to whether root is maintained or not.
     
  13. ThatonedudexP

    ThatonedudexP Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    133
    22
    58
    Male
    Pre-service elementary teacher
    Tennessee, United States
    Yes, so far that is the only known issue with this update. I haven't noticed anything else besides my ability to hotspot is gone. If the ability to root the Proclaim wasn't impacted, my guess is it won't mess up the root on an already rooted Proclaim. It's just a hunch though. Oh, and welcome to Android Forums!! :)
     
    george357 likes this.
  14. samsuva

    samsuva Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013

    Feb 24, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Do not update with a stock phone!

    I updated when I went to a root forum and there was a thread about how foxfi was not affected. My mistake was that it was a root forum and I had a stock phone :( . Oh well. I have since then rooted the phone, but I am struggling to get access to the Mobile HotSpot. I purchased the foxfi full version in Nov, 2012 and it worked flawlessly till the update.

    I have Odin'ed and rooted with shabbypenguin, and used ES File Manager to attempt to change the system build file and am finding I cannot save the edits. I downloaded WIFI Tether and that opens with errors, specifically ad hoc and a few others, I am just not getting access. I could use a root buddy on this, any takers?

    On our other Proclaim, we simply choose install later, but eventually we will have to root that phone and shut off the updates.

    Thanks for the thread, Sam
     
  15. george357

    george357 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013

    Feb 21, 2013
    14
    1
    36
    Male
    Disability (currently)
    Weaverville, NC
    Thank You, ThatonedudexP! I completely missed that in Dark Jedi's post:eek:. Appreciate the help and welcome! :)
     
  16. jeeptj5

    jeeptj5 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012

    Jun 15, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    My ST (Net10) Proclaim has the update waiting. Can I reboot the phone without installing the update? I tell it "later" each time the nag screen comes up, but I'm afraid to reboot - I use Foxfi and don't want to loose it!

    Phone is NOT rooted.

    Thanx.
     
  17. ThatonedudexP

    ThatonedudexP Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    133
    22
    58
    Male
    Pre-service elementary teacher
    Tennessee, United States
    You might want to confirm this, but I'm pretty positive the update won't automatically install when you reboot the phone.
     
  18. cybor462

    cybor462 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Wow My phone is rooted and I keep getting that update. I let it update and all seemed ok. A couple weeks later it was back every 5 mins it kept popping up so I just kept avoiding it. Finally I was so pissed I let it install again. It went away and now its back again. Its the same update over and over.
    Does anyone here know why this is happening? It has installed twice actually.
    I am a real newbie so I am lost with this. My phone is rooted with Odin but I really just get by when it comes to knowing how to do much with the deeper stuff with code and stuff.
    Can anyone help?

    Maybe I should add I got an app off google play for a database. It was infected with a couple exploit bugs. I infected my pc's by syncing but the scanners say I am now clean. How do I know if I am. Could this update thing be part of this? My battery life since the infection is 9 hours if lucky and that is not using anything. It was 14+
    I need help!
    On the pc it said I had iambigbrother and I wonder if thats what I got from the app. Any help on this?
     
  19. george357

    george357 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013

    Feb 21, 2013
    14
    1
    36
    Male
    Disability (currently)
    Weaverville, NC
    cybor462, I am having the same issue! I am thinking about looking into rewriting the update available code within Android but have not got around to researching it yet. I would rather not go that route but it is getting pretty annoying.

    George
     
  20. cybor462

    cybor462 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Heah George

    I saw another forum, I think area51 where one of the guys was going to do that. I am not sure if or when. I think that constant alert is draining my battery. I only get 9 hours anymore from it when I easily got 14+ I do not use it much surfing mainly just email and a little phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...