1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

System Write Access

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by N1vag, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. N1vag

    N1vag Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    65
    4
    16
    How do I allow system write access? Or how do I even check if I have system write access?
    I have installed Font Changer but it requires system write access and mentions s-off (no idea what that is!).
    Any help would be appreciated!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Have you rooted the handset?
     
  3. N1vag

    N1vag Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    65
    4
    16
    Yep it's rooted but the font changer doesn't work. I've made sure it's got superuser access but it still doesn't work. I've been informed that the most likely thing is the system write access but I don't know how to check or allow access etc.
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Root should allow r/w access to /system, so I can only suspect that the app isn't compatible with the GS2 in some way. You do know that you can alter the font style in Settings/Display/Screen display?
     
    N1vag likes this.
  5. N1vag

    N1vag Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    65
    4
    16
    I think I read somewhere that merely rooting a phone won't always allow system write access and I think that's why I have got a little confused.
    I know that you can change the fonts via the display settings but there is only two on there and using font changer I can find any font online and use that (well if I ever get it to work) as it uses the .ttf format. Is there any way that I can download fonts and just use the normal display settings to change it? (preferably for free)
    Thanks for your help so far.
     
  6. N1vag

    N1vag Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    65
    4
    16
    I'm not too sure how but I have now got it to work! Thanks for your help.
     
  7. N1vag

    N1vag Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    65
    4
    16
    All it turned out to be was I needed to check 'default' on the display font setting and now font changer works fine. So easy in the end.
     
  8. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Yup, the "Get fonts online" button takes you to the Market. Fonts installed are added to the list. Btw, while free is always good there are some great collections available for a couple of bucks. Someone else recommended the "Clean FlipFont Megapack" and I heartily agree. It includes many smaller fonts that are ideal for the GS2's large display.
     

Share This Page

Loading...