1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

T mobile device question

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by rjgar01, Dec 29, 2013.

  1. rjgar01

    rjgar01 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Hi everyone, I'm sure this question has been asked before, I just can't seem to find it anywhere. Since Metro Pcs is part of the T-Mobile network can any tmobile device (locked or not) be used on Metro service? Thanks in advance for your help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    You really should search this thread, yes it can, several times over this has been said.
     
  3. rjgar01

    rjgar01 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Gotcha, thanks, I'll search better.
     
  4. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    sorry if it came off as brash, it didnt mean to, the amount of times its been asked is just alot, so if I sounded mean, it wasn't my intention
     
  5. rjgar01

    rjgar01 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013

    Dec 29, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    No biggie, I should searched better. No harm, no foul.
     
  6. saptech

    saptech Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    3,761
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    If AF could make some of the questions asked over & over into a sticky, that may would help, especially for newbies to the forum.

    I guess they could make stickies as long as the same questions are of the same topic.

    Just a thought!
     
  7. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    If someone wanted to compose an FAQ thread, we would be more than happy to stick it.
     
  8. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    If its ok, I can add some things here, as well as some other members and we can take it all and turn it into a sticky?
     
  9. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    No problem, if we can compile it into one area, I can then break it out of the thread into its own new thread and then sticky it. I can even put a lock on it to prevent it from becoming a question forum and then a guide or mod can add another post to it if something needs to be added.
     
  10. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    I'll add what I can remember since it's early.

    What phones can be used on BYOD? Any unlocked GSM phone

    Can T-mobile branded phones be used without it being unlocked? Yes

    Will I get LTE? (Only if the device is capable of band IV/4)

    Will my current non-GSM Metro Pcs sim be compatible? No

    Is this the same thing as flashing? No

    How much is a Metro Pcs sim card? $10
     
  11. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    I was thinking about just turning the sticky I made for the APN just into a BYOD FAQ
     
    new optimus and DirtyDee like this.
  12. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    If my phone has a bad IMEI from AT&T will it work with BYOD? No, T-mobile and AT&T share blacklists.

    Is my iphone compatible? Yes, if it is Unlocked or AT&T or T-mobile, for some reason people think iphone's fall into a special category so I figured I would add this in.
     

Share This Page

Loading...