1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root T-Mobile HTC One M7 unable to boot after attempting to install custom rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by supersteve114, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. supersteve114

    supersteve114 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 26, 2015

    May 26, 2015
    5
    1
    16
    Hi everybody,

    I'm very new to Android tinkering and decided it would be fun to try rooting my old m7 after I got the m9. I started by unlocking the bootloader a couple of weeks ago, which went fine. Today I successfully installed clockwork mod and created a backup. I tried to install the Skydragon HTC One M7 Google Play Edition rom afterward, but it would fail to install clean, so I tried choosing the "dirty" install option (which doesn't wipe all user data) and it said it was successful. Unfortunately after reboot it just stayed stuck on the white HTC boot screen. I attempted wiping user, cache, and davlik data, but it still didn't work, so tried to restore the backup. Sadly, the backup is stuck in a bootloop now and just boots into recovery after a couple of tries. I tried wiping the 3 on it too, but can't seem to get anywhere. I think part of the problem could be that it's still currently S-On and maybe I should have S-Offed it first... Any advice would be great.

    Thanks,
    Steven
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,666
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,666
    19,046
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    In general you should be able to flash a ROM on an S-On device without any problem, but a GPE ROM might require different firmware (i.e. the lower-level stuff rather than just the ROM). I absolutely would not expect a GPE ROM to work with a dirty flash, but then if you'd already tried to do it properly then you'll have done a reset already by that time.

    The backup failing is more worrying. Did you try doing anything other than flashing a ROM from recovery, then restoring the backup?

    Have you tried a Sense-based ROM, such as ViperOne? And what firmware version do you have? Since we know it's a T-Mobile handset the information on the bootloader screen should suffice ("fastboot getvar all" is the definitive way to find out these things). I'm asking because you may have problems running a ROM that's newer than the firmware (e.g. a Lollipop ROM on KitKat firmware), and if we end up using a ROM Upgrade Utility (RUU) to recover the phone it will save time to know what you are running (as you can't use them to downgrade).

    Meanwhile, I'm going offline in a second, so I'll move this to the M7 root forum for better support.
     
    #2 Hadron, Jun 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
    EarlyMon and KJohns like this.
  3. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    i'm pretty sure you have to be s-off to flash a GPE rom. Can you use fastboot? If you can i'd change you recovery to TWRP and then try flash a rom.
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    That depends on the rom - the M8 has s-on GPE roms that work because they don't require GPE partitioning of storage.
     
  5. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    Hadron and EarlyMon like this.
  6. supersteve114

    supersteve114 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 26, 2015

    May 26, 2015
    5
    1
    16
    Thanks for putting this in the right place Hadron. I tried putting the Skydragon rom on and restoring the backup both multiple times hoping one of them would work. I'd definitely be willing to try any other rom. Whatever will make it work again! Haha. I'll definitely look into trying the ViperOne rom or maybe the one shauny13 posted later. I can still fastboot shauny, just not adb. Can you not flash roms with clockwork mod? Here's the website where I found the SkyDragon rom: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/update-htc...oth-skydragon-google-play-edition-rom-1482340

    Here's the info on my hboot screen:

    *** TAMPERED***
    *** UNLOCKED ***
    M7_UL PVT SHIP S-ON RH
    HBOOT-1.61.0000
    RADIO-4T.35.3218.16
    OpenDSP-v35.120.274.0718
    OS-7.18.531.2
    eMMC-boot 2048MB
    Feb 11 2015, 18:39:53.0

    I can do "fastboot getvar all" for you later too if needed. And I'd definitely be down to try Rom Upgrade Utility too if needed.
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Never trust blogs that scrape XDA, or any other forum, for rom advice or downloads - unless it's the developer's personal blog.

    This year I helped unbrick at least 3 One M8 phones whose owners had been fooled by fake Skydragon rom downloads.
     
  8. supersteve114

    supersteve114 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 26, 2015

    May 26, 2015
    5
    1
    16
    Here, went ahead and did fastboot getvar all:

    version: 0.5
    version-bootloader: 1.61.0000
    version-baseband: 4T.35.3218.16
    version-cpld: None
    version-microp: None
    version-main: 7.18.531.2
    version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
    serialno:
    imei:
    meid: 00000000000000
    product: m7_ul
    platform: HBOOT-8064
    modelid: PN0713000
    cidnum: T-MOB010
    battery-status: good
    battery-voltage: 4237mV
    partition-layout: Generic
    security: on
    build-mode: SHIP
    boot-mode: FASTBOOT
    commitno-bootloader: dirty-331585dd
    hbootpreupdate: 11
    gencheckpt: 0

    I assume I would have to flash a rom through fastboot at this point right? I don't think I have any way to get a zip folder onto the phone storage at this point except maybe a usb otg cable or flash drive, which I could easily pickup at work if it would help.
     
    #8 supersteve114, Jun 23, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2015
  9. supersteve114

    supersteve114 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 26, 2015

    May 26, 2015
    5
    1
    16
    EarlyMon likes this.
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Good show amigo! :)

    You can't really sideload an HTC with just fastboot as a user, so far as I've seen.

    You can sideload via adb through TWRP, Advanced but that doesn't work for everyone. I understand that you have adb issues so that's out for this time.

    You may also be able to simply copy the rom to your phone from your pc by going into TWRP, Mount and mounting your internal storage. Depends on how cooperative your pc is with its MTP setup - normally (whatever that means in Windows) it will just work.

    Never seen an OTG USB cable + usb stick formatted FAT32 fail in this situation.

    Latest TWRP if you need it for fastboot installing (fastboot flash recovery twrp-2.8.7.0-m7.img ) -

    https://dl.twrp.me/m7/twrp-2.8.7.0-m7.img.html


    If things get really hosed and you just want to start over (and ensure that your firmware is up to date) here's your RUU -

    http://www.htc.com/us/support/htc-one-t-mobile/news/

    fastboot oem lock

    ^ Before using - and backup *everything* and get it off the phone first - an RUU will erase *everything*.


    PS - I erased your IMEI and serial numbers for your protection.


    PPS - I tend to use TWRP when available.
     
    Hadron likes this.
  11. supersteve114

    supersteve114 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 26, 2015

    May 26, 2015
    5
    1
    16
    Good news! I installed TWRP and flashed ViperOne and it seems to be working fine now. I'll probably just try this out for a while... it seems pretty cool. It got rid of all of the T-Mobile junk, which is one of the main things I wanted. Any other roms that you guys would recommend me trying? I want to mainly use it as a music player and keep it by my stereo. Any other suggestions for a newly rooted and flashed phone? Thanks for all of the help everybody.
     
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Viper is very cool. Wait until you discover Venom Tweaks and the Venom Sidebar.

    Make a nandroid backup now that you have a running baseline. You can go directly to TWRP (recovery) from restart in the power menu.

    After a nandroid backup, as you mentioned that you dig sound, check out ViPER4Android (coincidental name) -

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2191223

    Experiment - you may want to try it with and without your other sound settings.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...