1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[T-Mobile] Just Rooted Galaxy S4

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by paradoxymoron, Oct 27, 2014.

1. paradoxymoron

paradoxymoron Lurker

Hello, everyone!

I have just rooted my T-MOBILE S GS4 using the method provided on this the DROIDVIEWS website.
    It all went smoothly and i fortunately did not brick my phone. I used the rooting method, not the updating method. I was already on 4.4.4 when I rooted it.

I have a few questions though, because I am only a novice at this. I have never rooted a phone before. The main reason I turned to rooting was so I could delete bloatware. However, I have heard that deleting bloatware is dangerous and that I should freeze them instead with Titanium Backup. Why is this so? I want to delete them to have space and conserve battery life. Also, is there am up-to-date list of safe to delete bloatware for my phone?

I would also like to know how to use TiBu to its full extent, as the UI looks pretty daunting. What are some other good apps to have as a superuser and are there manuals to learn to use them?

Something else that worries me is how would I update the firmware on my phone from now on? For example, say Android 5.0 Lollipop comes out. How would I update my phone without loosing root and having to reset my phone?

I know I have a lot of questions, but I'm just being cautious with my phone. I hope you all can help me, please! Send me links that relate to what I'm asking or give me step-by-step details? Thanks so much!

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. spicaalex

spicaalex Member

I've used this one: List of Bloats/ System Apps on Samsung Galaxy Devices that Can be Safely Removed | DroidViews