1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

T-Mobile or metro branded S4

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by averagewonder, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. averagewonder

    averagewonder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Jul 23, 2012
    532
    86
    78
    Male
    Student/C.N.A
    Palm Coast, Fla
    So I've decided to get the s4 love my s3 but it's the CDMA one and the s4 just seems like a logical replacement. Now I know I can finance a metro branded s4 like I did with my s3. I also know that I can get a T-Mobile branded s4 on payment from shophq.com. Now besides the fact that the T-Mobile one is black which I would prefer. Is there any pros or cons to either one?
     

    Advertisement

  2. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,973
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Could be issues with tethering with a T-Mo phone if that's important to you.

    You'd need to go to the T-Mo forum and ask around there as I'm not up to snuff on my S4's.


    Recent T-Mo branded phones have more stout anti-tethering measures built into them that the Metro phones don't.


    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  3. timmyh318

    timmyh318 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    539
    130
    103
    Same phones. Not a difference at all. Except the bloatware installed and the colors offered. I really wished t mobile woulda offered the 32gb version also but nope never did.
     
  4. averagewonder

    averagewonder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Jul 23, 2012
    532
    86
    78
    Male
    Student/C.N.A
    Palm Coast, Fla
    yeah i figured as much. just want to make sure first.
     
  5. akmsr

    akmsr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    394
    96
    53
    forest hill, fl
    also metro will probably carrier lock the phone. after its paid off you could call and unlock it.
     
  6. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,973
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    And how do you know that?

    Do you have a T-Mo one that tether's perfectly with no root and using the on board native WiFi spot? Have you SEEN this yourself?

    Unless you have then you are likely WRONG. They AREN'T the EXACT same phone.

    I will make this more clear.

    There are models being sold right now where the Metro branded phone can tether with no issues while the T-Mo model of the same phone can't with either rooting or paying T-Mo.

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  7. timmyh318

    timmyh318 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    539
    130
    103
    They are EXACTLY THE SAME PHONE. Yes ive owned both models. The ONLY difference is the apn they connect to. Otherwise they are IDENTICAL PHONES.
     
  8. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    You can simply just switch the APN if need be. It's been shown that you have a harder time getting around the tether block on tmobile branded phones than metro branded ones. Its a discussion so please don't go around telling people if they have a reason to comment or not :)
     
  9. timmyh318

    timmyh318 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    539
    130
    103
    The fact still remains the S4 which this thread is about is the same on metro as it is on t mobile. So please tell me what his reponse to me (who happened to have both phones) has to do with this "discussion"?
     
  10. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    He asked if you saw the tmobile and/or metro S4 simply bypass metros tether block with no issue
     
  11. timmyh318

    timmyh318 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    539
    130
    103
    Yes. Because there IDENTICAL phones. Which is what i said in the start. Now your a smart dude know what your talking about. Are or are not the t mobile branded and metro branded s4's the same? Cmon its ok to say im right :) i wont tell anyone
    Heck you can even flash the t mobile firmware on the metro s4 and it would work just fine.
     
  12. timmyh318

    timmyh318 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    539
    130
    103
    For the last time.....the metro s4 and the t mobile s4 are IDENTICAL PHONES.

    And gman i found a post of yours from july of last year telling someone else that there the exact same phone :)
     
  13. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,973
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    How much money would you like to bet on that?


    Show the post that doesn't exist. (Especially since I'll readily admit to not knowing about, caring about a BIT about, nor I believe EVER POSTING about the S4.)


    Please show what the two of you have. :rolleyes: Or more precisely, don't
    have.


    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  14. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s4/741921-tmobile-model-same-metro.html#post5994796
    This one? I posted that before the difficulties bypassing the tether block arose. At that time everyone was more concerned about if it was the same exact network they'd be accessing as tmobile. They're exactly the same hardware wise and access the same network and that's what I was posting about at that time.
     
  15. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,973
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Timmy, read the part above from Gman about tethering.

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  16. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    He had changed to me
     
  17. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Alright, some posts had to be edited or deleted because things got a little personal. It stops now.

    ^^^This is what this thread is about, so lets get back on that topic.
     
  18. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    let me say this, the hardware is the same, you like the t mobile branding on the phone, the color choice offered by metro? go with that phone, it appears, I stress appears that you can just load metro rom onto the phone for what ever reason you want it on.
     
    Gman9831 likes this.
  19. averagewonder

    averagewonder Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Jul 23, 2012
    532
    86
    78
    Male
    Student/C.N.A
    Palm Coast, Fla

    Yeah that was really part of my concern if I can just use the metro roms or not. Also Yes the tethering is also a concern as well.
     
  20. timmyh318

    timmyh318 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    539
    130
    103
    They are the same phone. You cant do anything on the metro version that cant be done on the t mobile version. Ive had both. If your gonna rom it and root it tethering isnt an issue at all. The roms are all interchangable...at least everyone i tried. T mobile roms work on metro version and metro roms work on the t mobile version. The only difference is the color selection. Thats it. Oh and the t mobile one says t mobile on the back and the metro version has the stock samsung back with no carrier on it. If you like the t mobile version get it it will do everything the metro version does.
     
  21. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,973
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    I am going to say this one more time.


    Then I am done with this.


    Timmy you probably had an S4 MONTHS ago, BEFORE T-Mo strengthened the anti-throttling measures on THEIR phones.


    The *CURRENT* T-Mo phones that Metro sells the same model of need to be rooted and STILL played around with to tether with no issues.


    The Metro model will tether unrooted.


    That makes them NOT EXACTLY the same phone.


    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  22. timmyh318

    timmyh318 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    539
    130
    103
    Seeing as you never used either model your point is invalid. There both the same phone. Call samsung t mobile metro or obama for all i care they will tell you. On top of that the op said he wanted to put a metro rom on the phone which will work just fine with the t mobile phone. So again your point is invalid. Nothing you said has any relevance to the point anymore.
     
  23. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    My question would be are you concerned about having a warranty on the device first and foremost? If not, and you are concerned about tethering, just go with a T-mobile device since it can be found much cheaper then the metro branded device, root it, rom it, and you'll be right as rain, I'm not saying anyone else in here is wrong, but thats my opinion.
     
  24. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    The point is perfectly valid. Metro and T-Mobile both sell the SGH-M919 variant of the Galaxy S4. However the firmware installed, and perhaps ancillary software, are not. Therefore they are the same hardware platform but not "the same phone". It's a minor but nevertheless important distinction.

    Yes, flashing an alternative firmware can negate this fact but almost three years of dealing with the confusing mess that is the Galaxy S2 range has taught me that inaccuracy only leads to frustration and heartache. :)
     
  25. danyvw

    danyvw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    685
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    685
    208
    93
    USA
    As said before both phones have the SAME hardware, the only difference is the firmware installed. I own a GS4 from Metro and I've installed several stock and modified ROMs from T-Mobil on it, even you can install any ROM from the International I9505 on it just the same way as you can do it with the T-M GS4.
     

Share This Page

Loading...