1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

T-Mobile Phones Unlocked on AT&T

Discussion in 'AT&T' started by ndh777, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. ndh777

    ndh777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    885
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    I hear that if and when the merger between AT&T and T-Mobile is complete, all former T-Mobile users will be required to get new phones.

    I know this is a bit early to ask, but would that include AT&T users who have unlocked T-Mobile phones? I ask because I'm wondering if it will be worth it to unlock this G1 I got for free and put it on my dad's AT&T Go Phone plan.
     

    Advertisement

  2. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243

    You probably won't "have" to get a new phone, but given that most T-Mo phones do not have AT&T 3G bands (some do, such as my T-Mo Defy), if you want 3G service, "then" you would need to get a phone which supports them. AT&T released their tentative plan to do away with HSPA/HSPA+ on T-Mo's 1700 band, in favor of LTE...killing off the plan to move to 168Mbs on HSPA+ :)mad: because I have T-Mo $10/mo. data).

    Not knowing how it will all go down, "if" I lose my EM+ T-Mo plan, I will move my Defy to my $15/mo. MediaNet AT&T plan. However if AT&T incorporates all T-Mo branded phones and considers them as their own, I'll just continue to use my non carrier branded Nokia, or some other unlocked phone. If Android, maybe the Nexus?
     
  3. fangorious

    fangorious Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    The 3G Vibrant has 1900 MHz UMTS for AT&T 3G in some areas (AT&T also uses 850 MHz UMTS), and the upcoming G2x has all frequencies currently in use by both AT&T and T-Mobile so it will have 3G anywhere AT&T has 3G.
     
  4. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ

    I don't get one thing about the g2x it has vanilla Android but has some tmobile crap on it. Then they only have froyo why's that?
     
  5. ndh777

    ndh777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    885
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    My dad isn't too techy although he is a bit impatient...really, I think he'd be fine using a phone without 3G if it would allow him to still use the network and download apps and such.

    Thanks for the answers though. It seemed to answer my question a little better.
     
  6. glg

    glg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    40
    2
    36
    Chicago
    I can't see why they wouldn't do that. *maybe* they'd ignore the ones that don't have AT&T's freqs since they can't do any 3G, but those that have AT&T's freqs I would think they'd certainly get into their system as smartphones and hit you for data.
     

Share This Page

Loading...