1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [T-Mobile] T-Mobile Update Not Working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Slim11208, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. Slim11208

    Slim11208 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    56
    2
    16
    Male
    New York
    Issue:
    The LG G2 from T-Mobile got a update early January. NOT KITKAT. Mine will download but does not install. Any suggestions on how to force the update?

    Details:
    My device is rooted. I had bought it on a t-mobile network, but have since left T-mobile and switched to MetroPCS because the price is better for the same service.

    Original Update:
    LG Help: Product Support and Troubleshooting | LG USA

    In the link ^^ you can see that the software version is supposed to end in G. but by my screenshot you can see it's still C.

    Lil help here.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Most OTAs won't work on rooted phones.

    So neither TMobile nor Metro is responsible for pushing the OTA to you.

    You'll have to unroot and go back to TMobile to get the update, or find the update file, do it manually and tke your chances. (TMobile might update a customer's phone, I doubt if Metro will.)
     
  3. Slim11208

    Slim11208 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    56
    2
    16
    Male
    New York
    so it's a matter of tracking down that update file.
     
  4. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,773
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,773
    3,741
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    You just need the stock recovery to install the ota.

    However it'll kill your root though.
     
  5. Slim11208

    Slim11208 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    56
    2
    16
    Male
    New York
    It's worth a shot... I'll give it a go.
     
  6. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,365
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Hi Slim11208, I moved this thread to the T-Mobile LG G2 root forum since the issue involves root :)
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  7. Slim11208

    Slim11208 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    56
    2
    16
    Male
    New York
    I don't know why you would move it to root... if anything, it's about UPDATING a phone.. sure root plays a part.. but the main objective is to UPDATE.
     
  8. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    35,579
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    35,579
    39,964
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Changes you made to your device via having root access are what is preventing the update from installing correctly. That is why this has been moved to the ATR forum.:)
     
    DragonSlayer95 and jhawkkw like this.
  9. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    This is true, however as mentioned above, being rooted presents different hurdles for updating due to needing to return various things to stock, like the recovery and/or kernel. Because doing so requires methods that the typical non-rooted user wouldn't have to do, it's better suited in the root subforum.
     
    DragonSlayer95 and Unforgiven like this.
  10. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,773
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,773
    3,741
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    As stated above, if root wasn't causing your device not to update (custom recovery is the culprit here), it would still be in its original place.

    Have you tried flashing the stock recovery and updating again?
     
  11. Slim11208

    Slim11208 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    56
    2
    16
    Male
    New York
    The conversation here wasn't productive at all. Unfortunately it was the mods beating up on me. So I chose not to sit here and be the kid in class who got pushed around by bullies.

    INSTEAD
    I went over to XDA-Developers website and found the solution to my issue.
    It's pretty sad to see so many mods on 1 thread justifying a foul move of another mod. And not 1 of them said "dude, this might be the solution to your issue." It shows poor leadership on their part.

    In any case, thank you for checking in with me.

    I found my solution here.
    LG G2 Stock Firmware (Go Back to Stock) - xda-developers

    I don't have time to feed into the internet bullying bullshit.
     

LG G2

The LG G2 has a 5.2-inch display with 1080p resolution. It also has a Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor, 2GB of RAM, a 13 megapixel camera, NFC, and more.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...